Gordon Igesund dips into Kaizer Chiefs squad for key 2013 Afcon players

Chiefs and Pirates supply almost half the Bafana squad heading to continental showpiece
Kaizer Chiefs are the dominant club in the Bafana Bafana squad announced by coach Gordon Igesund on Sunday.

The AmaKhosi will supply seven players to the national cause for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations, more than any side and comfortably more than their previous record.

The most players that Chiefs had previously seen go to a Nations Cup finals was five, when they were represented by John Moshoeu, David Kannemeyer, Stanton Fredericks, Jabu Pule and Patrick Mayo at the 2004 tournament in Tunisia. Their next highest after that is two players at each of the 1996, 1998 and 2008 events.

In 2013, Chiefs will be represented by Itumeleng Khune, Siboniso Gaxa, Tsepo Masilela, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Lehlohonolo Majoro and Bernard Parker.

The next highest club representation comes from Chiefs’ rivals Orlando Pirates, who will have four players at the event – Senzo Meyiwa, Thabo Matlaba, Siyabonga Sangweni and Oupa Manyisa.

That means between them the Soweto giants will make up almost half of the squad, with 11 of the 23 players coming from those two clubs.

Mamelodi Sundowns are the only other side with multiple representatives – Wayne Sandilands and Katlego Mphela.

Bloemfontein Celtic (Thabo Nthethe), Moroka Swallows (Lerato Chabangu) and Platinum Stars (Thuso Phala) are the other PSL clubs to send players with Bafana to the tournament.

It means that in total, the PSL has provided 16 of the 23 players, or almost 70 percent of the players.

The rest are made up of overseas-based player, two in England, two in Sweden, as well as Greece, Netherlands and Belgium.

 Clubs represented in Bafana Bafana squad:

Kaizer Chiefs (seven): Itumeleng Khune, Siboniso Gaxa, Tsepo Masilela, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Siphiwe Tshabalala, Lehlohonolo Majoro, Bernard Parker

Orlando Pirates (four): Senzo Meyiwa, Thabo Matlaba, Siyabonga Sangweni, Oupa Manyisa

Mamelodi Sundowns (two): Wayne Sandilands, Katlego Mphela

Bloemfontein Celtic (one): Thabo Nthethe

Moroka Swallows (one): Lerato Chabangu

Platinum Stars (one): Thuso Phala

PAOK, Greece (one): Bongani Khumalo

Genk, Belgium (one): Anele Ngcongca

Crystal Palace, England (one): Kagisho Dikgacoi

Oldham Athletic, England (one): Dean Furman

Helsingborg, Sweden (one): May Mahlangu

Ajax Amsterdam, Netherlands (one): Thulani Serero

Malmo, Sweden (one): Tokelo Rantie