Dean Furman to captain Bafana Bafana

Shakes Mashaba has announced that midfielder Dean Furman will lead the side in their penultimate 2015 Group A Afcon qualifier against Sudan

Bafana Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba has unveiled midiflelder Dean Furman as the man to lead the side at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban. The English-based player, Furman takes over the captaincy from the late Senzo Meyiwa who was tragically gunned down a few weeks ago in his Vosloorus home. 

Other inclusions sees Orlando Pirates midfield sensation Oupa Manyisa getting his first start  in the qualifying phase, and so to does left-back Sibusiso Khumalo, who takes over from the injured Thabo Matlaba. Up-front, Bongani Ndulula and Tokelo Rantie continue to lead the attack in Mashaba's preferred 4-4-2 formation. But in goal Darren Keet gets the nod as many had predicted beforehand, and he will be accompanied by Eric Mathoho, Rivaldo Coetzee, Anele Ngcongca and Khumalo in the rear-guard.

There is unfortunately no place for the PSL's joint top-scorer Moeketsi Sekola, who came in for the injured Sibusiso Vilakazi and the now banned May Mahlangu. Orlando Pirates forward Lehlohonolo Majoro will miss the tie altogether after sustaining an injury during the course of the week. Overall there are only three changes to the side that hosted Congo-Brazzaville in Polokwane last month.

Victory for Bafana against the Sudanese will all but seal their spot in the Afcon which will be be staged in Equatorial Guinea from January.

Bafana Bafana line-up vs Sudan:

Darren Keet, Anele Ngcongca, Eric Mathoho, Rivaldo Coetzee, Sibusiso Khumalo, Dean Furman (capt), Andile Jali, Oupa Manyisa, Thulani Serero, Tokelo Rantie, Bongani Ndulula

Subs: Brilliant Khuzwayo, Ntsikelelo Nyauza, Tefu Mashamaite, Mandla Masango, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Moekesti Sekola, Themba Zwane