Remembering five iconic Nedbank Cup finals: SuperSport humiliate Pirates, Fernandez Kaizer Chiefs hero

  • Nedbank Cup trophy, May 2018

    Which are the five iconic Nedbank Cup finals?

    We have been treated to some fantastic South African FA Cup finals down the years with matches providing exhilarating moments and incredible turnarounds.

    GOAL takes a look back at some of the most memorable deciders since the PSL era began in 1996. 

  • SuperSport United, Bradley GroblerBackpagepix

    SuperSport embarrass Pirates

    Orlando Pirates were embarrassed by a ruthless SuperSport United side in the 2017 final which produced five goals at Moses Mabhida Stadium.

    Bradley Grobler’s brace was complimented by goals from Jeremy Brockie and Kingston Nkhatha as Matsatsantsa claimed an emphatic 4-1 win over Bucs who grabbed a late consolation goal through Oupa Manyisa.

    The Tshwane giants' party was dampened by acts of hooliganism from angry Pirates fans who invaded the pitch in frustration as their team was humiliated in a major final. 

  • Roger de Sa wins the Nedbank Cup for Wits

    Thriller at newly revamped FNB Stadium

    The 2010 final was the first competitive match at the newly revamped FNB Stadium and AmaZulu FC faced Bidvest Wits - two years after banking giants Nedbank began sponsoring the tournament. 

    Wits played enthralling football on the day under coach Roger De Sa and Brazilian midfielder Fabricio da Silva became the first player to score at the newly revamped venue ahead of the 2010 Fifa World Cup finals in South Africa.

    Sibusiso Vilakazi also caught the eye with his finishing ability as the bulky striker scored twice to inspire Wits to a 3-0 victory over a hapless AmaZulu side in an action-packed final. 

  • Rowen Fernandez of Kaizer ChiefsGallo

    Fernandez dazzles in Soweto Derby

    Two of the biggest football clubs in the country, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates clashed at the King's Park Stadium in the 2006 final with the tournament known as the Absa Cup. 

    After 120 minutes of football and two red cards in which goalkeeper Rowen Fernandez pulled off some good saves to keep Pirates at bay, the match went into a penalty shootout where the Chiefs star saved a penalty.

    The then-Bafana Bafana international scored the winning spot-kick to hand Amakhosi a 5-3 win on penalties - beating fellow shot-stopper Francis Chansa with a thunderous strike.

  • Siyabonga Nomvethe - Kaizer Chiefs

    Nomvethe breaks Sundowns hearts

    Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns locked horns at FNB Stadium in the 2000 final when the tournament was still known as the Bob Save Super Bowl final.

    Sundowns were tipped by many as the favourites to win the match as they had recently clinched their third successive PSL league title - continuing their dominance of local football. 

    Hiowever, Siyabonga Nomvethe scored the decisive goal from a penalty spot to hand Chiefs the cup with a 1-0 win in this tightly contested match as Amakhosi humbled the South African champions.

  • Edwin Gyimah & Bradley GroblerGallo Images

    SuperSport and Pirates finals never disappoint

    SuperSport were looking to clinch their second Nedbank Cup trophy in four years when they faced Pirates in the 2016 final at Peter Mokaba Stadium. 

    The Buccaneers broke the deadlock through Luvuyo Memela and Matsatsantsa responded by scoring three - stunning Bucs fans into silence inside the stadium as Jeremie Brockie, Bradley Grobler and Michael Boxall scored. 

    A second-half Clayton Daniels' own-goal gave Pirates hope, but SuperSport's resolute defence frustrated the Soweto grants and ultimately, the Tshwane emerged as 3-2 winners on the day.