Premier League Hall of Fame: What is it, inductees & all you need to know

Premier League Hall of Fame Thierry Henry Alan Shearer
With Alan Shearer & Thierry Henry already announced as the first two nominees, fans can vote for other inductees from a pool of Premier League greats

The Premier League have officially unveiled their new Hall of Fame, where fans can chose their favourite players to be included and honoured for the prestigious award.

Goal has everything you need about the inaugural Premier League Hall of Fame, with the full list of inductees to be unveiled later this month.

What is the Premier League Hall of Fame?

The Premier League Hall of Fame honours and celebrates the very best who have played in the competition.

Article continues below

Individuals will be awarded with a membership to the Premier League Hall of Fame, set to recognise the true greats of English top-flight football.

Only retired players will be eligible for induction into the Premier League Hall of Fame, and only their career in the Premier League will be taken into consideration during the selection process.

Once chosen, each Hall of Fame inductee receives a personalised medal engraved with their induction year.

The Premier League have announced the first two players to be added to the Hall of Fame, alongside a shortlist of nominees. Fans will be able to vote for their chosen inductee during this time.

In an official statement the Premier League said: "Membership of the Premier League Hall of Fame will be the highest individual honour awarded to players by the League."

"Since 1992, the Premier League has been home to world-class players who have defined generations and provided us with compelling football season after season," added Premier League chief executive Richard Masters.

"A place in the Premier League Hall of Fame is reserved for the very best. It will be an occasion for our fans around the world to look back over the years and help us celebrate some truly exceptional playing careers."

Who has been inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame?

Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry are the first two Premier League Hall of Fame inductees, announced in April 2021.

Six more players will be inducted in 2021 from a list of a 23-man shortlist.

How to vote for Premier League Hall of Fame inductees

Fans can vote for their Hall of Fame nominees on the official website.  They can vote for a total of up to six candidates out of the 23-man shortlist, with the votes to be announced later in the year.

The winners will join Shearer and Henry in the Premier League Hall of Fame.

Voting closes on May 9 at 6pm BST (1pm ET).

Premier League Hall of Fame shortlist

The 23-man shortlist that fans can vote from include a glittering array of English football greats, including the legendary likes of Steven Gerrard, David Beckham, Eric Cantona, Frank Lampard and Ian Wright.

You can view the full list below.

Player Club Years active
Tony Adams Arsenal 1992-2002
David Beckham Manchester United 1994-2003
Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal 1995-2006
Sol Campbell Arsenal 1992-2011
Eric Cantona Manchester United 1992-1997
Andy Cole Manchester United 1993-2008
Ashley Cole Chelsea 1999-2014
Didier Drogba Chelsea 2004-2012, 2014-2015
Les Ferdinand Newcastle, Tottenham, West Ham, Leicester 1992-2004
Rio Ferdinand Manchester United 1995-2015
Robbie Fowler Liverpool 1993 - 2008
Frank Lampard Chelsea 1995-2015
Matthew Le Tissier Southampton 1992-2002
Michael Owen Liverpool, Man Utd & Newcastle 1996-2004, 2005-2013
Peter Schmeichel Manchester United 1992-1999, 2001-2003
Paul Scholes Manchester United 1993-2013
John Terry Chelsea 1998-2017
Robin Van Persie Arsenal 2004-2015
Nemanja Vidic Manchester United 2006-2014
Patrick Vieira Arsenal 1996-2005, 2010-2011
Ian Wright Arsenal 1992-1999