Okwahu, Techiman & Hasaacas eliminated from FA Cup

Goal Ghana
The preliminary round of the oldest cup competition took place over the weekend, with last season finalist surprisingly bowing out

The 2017 Ghana FA Cup competition preliminary round came on over the weekend with several upsets. Last season’s finalists Okwahu United continued their poor start to the campaign that has seen them battling relegation in the division one league, after losing 2-1 to Danbort FC. They have now become the first losing finalist to be eliminated in the preliminary stage since 2012.

Nania FC, who won the title in 2010, also fell to Uncle T Stars 5-3 on penalties after the game ended 1-1 in regulation time.

Former Ghana Premier League side Bofoakwa Tano were also eliminated by Young Apostles 3-2 on penalties.

Article continues below

In Techiman, Eleven Wonders walloped Paga Japan Stars 7-1 at the Ohene Ameyaw Park on Saturday. The visitors took an early lead but saw their goalkeeper injured in the second half. Without a substitute goalkeeper on the bench, one of the players replaced the shot-stopper but could not prevent the hosts from going on rampage.

At the same venue on Sunday, Techiman City, who suffered relegation last season from the top-flight were shocked by NEA Salamina. The visitors pipped the Real Citizens by a lone goal.

However, New Edubiase United failed to turn up for their game against Eleven Wise on Saturday at the Essipong Sports Stadium in Sekondi.

According to the club's top hierarchy, there was a miscommunication from the football association.

There are several matches to be played between Monday and Wednesday including Mighty Jets and Amidaus Professionals.

Mampong Unique FC will also engage Dreams FC. Rail Stars FC will host in-form Dunkwa United FC while

Westlandes play Gold Stars.

Results at a glance

Nania FC 0-0 (3-5) Uncle T Stars

Danbort FC 2-1 Okwawu United

True Democracy 0-0 (5-4) Zein Fc

Bepong Believers FC 0-1 Kotoku Royals

Sekondi Hasaacas 1-2 Nzema Kotoko

Techiman City FC 0-1 NEA Salamina

Bofoakwa 1-1(2-3) Young Apostles

Okyeman Planners 2-1 Blue Skies

Juaboso All Stars 1-1 (3-4) Samartex

Vision FC 2-0 Charity Stars

Sporting Mirren 2-1 Madina Republicans

Dolphins FC 5-0 Enchi All stars

Akosombo fc 0-0 (3-4) Phar Rangers

Mampong Unique FC Dreams FC

Narita fc 3-0 Akroso Royal FC

Eleven Wise vs New Edubiase (Postponed)

Wassaman FC 1-0 Karela FC

RTU 4-0 Sankara National

Utrecht Academy 7-0 STK Stars

Achiken FC 5-2 Subri Royal

King Faisal 3-1 Buffalo FC

Area 51 FC 1-1 All Stars FC (2-4)

Home Stars 0-1 NaDm FC

Effutu Great Kingdy 0-3 Unistar Academy

Nyarkrom Youth 0-2 Proud Utd