News Live Scores

Mikel, Moses top Nigeria 28-man list for Poland, Serbia friendlies

5:51 AM EST 3/7/18
The Super Eagles captain and NFF Player of the Year winner lead the way for the tune-ups, with Torino's Obi and Al Ahly's Ajayi also on the list

John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses headline Nigeria's 28-man squad to do battle with Poland and Serbia in March's pre-World Cup friendlies.

Torino versatile midfielder Joel Obi returns to the national fold after almost four years out in the cold, due to several fitness concerns while Olympic Bronze medalist and Al Ahly's markman Junior Ajayi was handed his debut Super Eagles call-up.

Gernot Rohr has stuck with the trio of Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Daniel Akpeyi and youngster Francis Uzoho in the goalkeeping department. While joining Ezenwa from the CHAN Eagles' setup are Stephen Eze [now with Bulgarian outfit Lokomotiv Plovdiv] and Akwa United's forward Gabriel Okechukwu.

Regulars such as William Troost-Ekong and defensive partner Leon Balogun, Leicester City's duo of Wilfried Ndidi and Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, Kenneth Omeruo, Ahmed Musa and China-based Odion Ighalo made the cut, with Malaga new signings Brown Ideye and Isaac Success missing out.

Nigeria will face Adam Nawalka's Polish side at the Stadion Miejski in Poland on March 23, and four days later, they face Serbia at the Hive, London.

Asides these duels, Rohr's men are scheduled to trade tackles with DR Congo, England and Czech Republic as they build up to their sixth appearance at the Fifa World Cup, in Russia.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, The Netherlands); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England); Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium); Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv, Bulgaria)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Joel Obi (Torino FC, Italy)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Junior Ajayi (Al Ahly, Egypt); Gabriel Okechukwu (Akwa United)