MSL2018 fixtures released, what do we know from it

Johor Southern Tigers
Goal had a look at the new fixtures released by FMLLP and picked out five rather interesting observations.

Football Malaysia Limited Liability Partnership (FMLLP) released the first half of the 2018 Super League and Premier League fixtures as the excitement of the new season intensifies.

Johor Darul Ta'zim (JDT) looks to defend their title with the likes of Pahang, Kedah and Perak reinforcing their respective squads looking to give the holders a run for their money.

As would any fixture list, the Super League also threw up several fascinating talking points and Goal round it up here.

KL and PKNS have a cost effective March and May respectively

With three teams based in Klang Valley, there was a chance that the fixture could mean that one or more teams does not have to travel in a particular month and that's what transpired for Kuala Lumpur (KL) and PKNS FC. 

There are only two scheduled league matches in March and on both of those occasions, KL play host to Kedah and then to Melaka United.

Meanwhile for PKNS, they play away to KL at the start of May before hosting Melaka United. They will also kick off the second half of the season with a home tie against KL.

Only four teams get consecutive home games

FMLLP have more or less given almost all teams a home and away scheduling throughout the first half of the season. Only on four separate occasions does a team get to play two consecutive home matches.

JDT on Match Day 1 and 2, PKNP FC on Match Day 3 and 4, KL on Match Day 5 and 6 plus Melaka United on Match Day 7 and 8 are the only times where home fans gets consecutive matches to view.

While five teams get consecutive away games

The ones affected are Perak on MD1 and MD2, PKNS on MD3 and MD4, Kelantan on MD5 and MD6, Selangor on MD7 and MD8, and last but not least Negeri Sembilan on MD9 and MD10.

Only Pahang and Kedah have the perfect home and away scheduling pattern.

No floodlights, no problem

FMLLP have deemed 6 stadiums to yet fulfill the lighting requirement mandated in the rule book. Sultan Ismail Nasirudin Shah Stadium, Sultan Mohamad IV Stadium, Lumut Stadium, Darul Makmur Stadium, Batu Kawan Stadium and Tunku Abdul Rahman Stadium have all failed to pass the necessary test and matches there will be played at 4:45pm.

However the management of these stadiums have been given time to improve on the conditions and will be approved for night kick-offs should they pass the next test.

Perak Stadium only gets one returnee

The Perak Stadium is currently under renovation and as such both Perak TBG and PKNP will both be using the Lumut Stadium and Batu Kawan Stadium respectively during this period.

But in the schedule by match day 7, Perak will be using Perak Stadium once again while PKNP continues to stay at Batu Kawan Stadium. Although the possibility remains that PKNP will request for the same switch and there will be no complications as there are no clashes for these two teams from MD8 until MD12.