News Live Scores
Kaizer Chiefs

Gustavo Paez and Bhongolethu Jayiya notable absentees as Kaizer Chiefs reveal Caf Confederation Cup squad

9:39 AM EST 11/26/18
Kaizer Chiefs, Bhongolethu Jayiya
Amakhosi have revealed their squad that will do battle in the Caf Confederation Cup

Following defeat to Orlando Pirates, Kaizer Chiefs have now shifted their focus on to the Caf Confederation Cup.

Amakhosi are set to tackle Zanzibar side Zimamoto in the preliminary round of the continental tournament.

Nonetheless, Chiefs have since named a 24-men squad that have been registered for the tournament.

Recent signings Lebogang Manyama, Khama Billiat and ‘Dax’ all form part of head coach Giovanni Solinas’ squad.

After being bundled out of the Telkom Knockout this past weekend, Chiefs’ wait for a trophy continued, but the Glamour Boys will look to the Confederation Cup to revive their status as giants of the continent.

Kaizer Chiefs have registered an initial 24 players for the CAF Confederation Cup,” a statement issued by the club on their website read .

“Amakhosi will mark their return to the continental competition when they host Zanzibar’s Zimamoto at Port Elizabeth’s Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Wednesday, 28 November,” the club added.

Meanwhile, the club further explained that they have opted not to fill their quota as they may look to bring in reinforcements at a later stage in the competition.

“The club has elected not to fill all the spots as more players can still be registered at a later stage of the CAF Confederation Cup,” the club said.

“The game between Chiefs and Zimamoto at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Wednesday will kick-off at 19:30,” the club concluded.

Here is a full list of all the players registered for the tournament.

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune, Virgil Vries, Bruce Bvuma

Defenders:  Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Siyabonga Ngezana, Erick Mathoho, Daniel Cardoso, Teenage Hadebe, Mario Booysen, Godfrey Walusimbi, Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya

Midfielders:  Dumsani Zuma, Willard Katsande, George Maluleka, Siphelele Ntshangase, Dax Andrianarimanana, Hendrick Ekstein, Lebogang Manyama, Kabelo Mahlasela, Philani Zulu, Khama Billiat

Strikers:  Leonardo Castro, Bernard Parker, Ryan Moon