Gor Mahia coach Dylan Kerr: Nakumatt’s second goal was from offside position

Comments()
Goal Kenya.
The Shoppers needed a late strike to deny Gor Mahia maximum points in a 2-2 draw at Machakos Stadium on Saturday

Gor Mahia coach Dylan Kerr believes that Nakumatt’s second goal against the champions should have been ruled for offside.

The Shoppers needed a late strike to deny Gor Mahia maximum points in a 2-2 draw at Machakos Stadium on Saturday. However, the Briton coach insists the equalizer should not have been allowed to stand.

“Second goal is so bad and should not have counted, it was a joke and I want to ask KPL to act on the lineman. I support the referee 100% but this is unbelievable from his assistant.

Article continues below

“If you watch the lineman’s position before the goal goes in, he deserved to give offside," Kerr told Goal.

“If a player shoots and his teammates are in offside position and a keeper saves and he scores, it will be ruled offside because of interfering with play. I have paused and watched 25 times, frame by frame the position of the lineman and the three players, who were all offside.

“We were cheated and look closely where the lineman was standing when the goal goes in. Watch the clip when he shoots and then stop it. Then watch the scorer and stop it and look at the linesman’s position…that was a clear offside.”

Asked if the team missed lead scorer Jacques Tuyisenge, Kerr said, “Of course I missed Jacques but we didn’t just draw the game because of one player but because we failed to convert our chances as did Nakumatt.”

Gor Mahia will next face Bandari in a league match on Tuesday.

Close