Fringe Socceroos to join Australian development squad in Spain

Chris Ikonomidis Alex Gersbach Australia
Chris Ikonomidis and Alex Gersbach were among the players cut from Ange Postecoglou's squad this week and will head to Spain rather than Iran

Fringe Socceroos Alex Gersbach, Chris Ikonomidis, Stefan Mauk and Awer Mabil have been included in an Australian development squad that will train in Spain during the international break.

Australia's Under 23 coach Josep Gombau and Under 20 coach Ufuk Talay will take a look at the 22 players, who are considered the Socceroos' next generation of talent, during a training camp in Murcia from March 20-28.

Friendlies against Austria and Finland's Under 21 sides have also been organised.

The squad includes players with ages ranging from 17 to 22.

'We won't be afraid' to play McGree - Postecoglou

Gersbach, Ikonomidis and Mabil were all included in Ange Postecoglou's initial 30-man selection for this month's World Cup qualifiers against Iraq and United Arab Emirates, with the initial two having made two and six Socceroos appearances, respectively.

Mabil has never been included in a final Socceroos squad, while Mauk was involved for the friendly against England last year although he didn't get on the pitch.

Gombau and Talay's group includes just one A-League player - Newcastle Jets full-back Nicholas Cowburn.

Pasquali waiting for Ajax clearance

Other players with senior experience include Aiden O'Neill - who made his Premier League debut for Burnley earlier this season, Cameron Burgess - who is on loan at Bury from Fulham, Thomas Deng - the Melbourne Victory defender on loan at PSV Eindhoven, ex-Central Coast Mariners midfielder Anthony Kalik and Aston Villa midfielder Jordan Lyden.


Australian development squad in full:


Goalkeepers: Thomas Glover (Tottenham), Jordan Holmes (Eastbourne Borough), Ashley Maynard-Brewer (Charlton Athletic), Danijel Nizic (Morecambe)


Defenders: Cameron Burgess (Bury), Nicholas Cowburn (Newcastle Jets), Thomas Deng (PSV Eindhoven), Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg), Con Ouzounidis (Everton)


Midfielders: Jake Brimmer (Liverpool), Ajdin Hrustic (Groningen), Chris Ikonomidis (AGF), Anthony Kalik (Hajduk Split), Josh Laws (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Jordan Lyden (Aston Villa), Stefan Mauk (NEC Nijmegen), Aiden O'Neill (Oldham Athletic), Thomas Prinsen (PEC Zwolle)


Forwards: Panos Armenakas (Udinese), Deni Juric (Hajduk Split), Awer Mabil (Esbjerg), Milislav Popovic (FC Koln)