News Live Scores

Clash of Legends: FC Barcelona legends to take on their Mohun Bagan counterparts

7:21 AM EDT 9/1/18
Ronaldinho Barcelona Manchester United legends
FC Barcelona legends' coach Albert Ferran will soon reveal the squad which will visit Kolkata on September 28....

FC Barcelona legends will face Mohun Bagan legends on September 28 at the Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata. The match is organised by Kolkata based Football Next Organisation.

The concept of Barça Legends is the result of a program by FC Barcelona that aims to showcase the players who have previously played for the Club.

The project aims to contribute to the globalization of the Barça brand and its values through the yesteryear legends, as well as to help the players earn money after retirement. This initiative calls for various matches along with the organization of events held in different parts of the world.

The Barcelona legends side is managed by former Barcelona and Chelsea player Albert Ferrer. Under Ferrer’s tutelage, the side has played seven matches so far across the globe. They have won five, drew one and lost one.

Some of the notable matches they played in the past are against Manchester United legends which they drew 2-2, defeated Olympique de Marseille legends 3-0 and Romania legends 2-0.

Apart from the match against Mohun Bagan, the Barca legends side are scheduled to visit the Barcelona academies in New Delhi and Mumbai.

Coach Albert Ferran will soon disclose the squad of Barcelona legends who will travel to Kolkata for the match.

Mohun Bagan, on the other hand, have already declared a 51-man initial squad. A final list of 30 players will be revealed soon. The current squad consists of several current and former India internationals like IM Vijayan, Bhaichung Bhutia, Deepak Mondal, Surkumar Singh, Sunil Chhetri and many others.

The Mohun Bagan squad: Shilton Paul, Mehtab Hossain, Sangram Mukherjee, Renedy Singh, Dipendu Biswas, Dulal Biswas, Basudeb Mondal, Bhaichung Bhutia, IM Vijayan, Hemanta Dora, Arpan Dey, Amit Das, Shankarlal Chakraborty, Sanjay Majhi, Lolendra Singh, Surkumar Singh, Dharamjit Singh, Manitombi, Tomba Singh, James Singh, Gunbir Singh, Manjit Singh, Andrew Lewis, Denson Devdas, Ishfaq Ahmed, RC Prakash, Deepak Mondal, Micky Fernandes, Jo Paul Ancheri, Raman Vijayan, Sanjib Maria, Syed Rahim Nabi, Rajat Ghosh Dastidar, Amitabha Chandra, Goutam Ghosh, Sandip Nandy, Mehrajuddin Wadoo, Abdul Khalique, Prosanta Dora, Kalyan Choubey, Abhay Kumar, Tushar Rakshit, Amar Ganguly, Aloke Das, Ashim Biswas, Prasanta Chakraborty, Habibur Rehman, Sekh Sikander, Jose Ramirez Barreto and Sunil Chhetri.

The legends’ match can be followed on Barça TV, Barça Video and Barça's official YouTube channel. The match will start at 7 PM IST.