Baxter announces Bafana Bafana squad for Chan qualifier tie against Zambia

Baxter is expected to step aside and allow Thabo Senong to take charge of the team this weekend

Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has named a squad of 25 players for this weekend's Chan qualifier against Zambia. 

There are five new faces from the squad that beat Botswana in the previous round.

Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma returns to the squad alongside Denwin Farmer, Ayabulela Konqobe, Teboho Mokoena, Masilakhe Phohlongo and Tshegofatso Mabaso, who are the two new faces in the team.  

Article continues below

The first leg will be played on August 12 at a venue yet to be confirmed, with the return leg scheduled for the weekend of August 18-20 in Zambia.

The selected players will assemble on August 6, the South African Football Association (Safa) confirmed.

Goalkeepers: Boalefa Pule, Steven Hoffman, Bruce Bvuma.

Defenders: Siyabonga Nhlapo, Sphiwe Mnguni, Sandile Mthethwa, Tercious Malepe, Mothobi Mvala, Mario Booysen, Denwin Farmer, Ayabulela Konqobe.

Midfielders: Cole Alexander, Tebogo Mokoena, Sipho Mbule, Sibusiso Khumalo, Tshegofatso Mabaso, Dumisani Zuma, Michael Morton, Riyaad Norodien, Siphelele Ntshangase.

Strikers: Bongi Ntuli, Masilakhe Phohlongo, Ryan Moon, Gift Motupa.

Next article:
Man Utd Team News: Injuries, suspensions and line-up vs Brighton & Hove Albion
Next article:
AFC forced to delete insensitive Yemen explosion video
Next article:
Leeds United trolled by Pizza Hut
Next article:
Valverde not worried about Levante's Copa appeal
Next article:
Atletico Madrid confirm MRI for Saul after thigh injury