Bafana Bafana's final squad for 2018 Cosafa Cup tournament announced

Bafana hosted the Cosafa Cup tournament last year, but failed to reached the final, and they will be expected to do much better this time around

Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced his final squad for the 2018 Cosafa Cup tournament to be held in Polokwane this weekend.

As expected, Baxter has opted for a blend of the experienced and inexperienced players as he tries to widen the pool of players for the South African national team.

Reyaad Pieterse made the cut to provide guidance to Kaizer Chiefs keeper Bruce Bvuma and Mamelodi Sundowns' MDC shot-stopper Khulekani Khubeka. 

Article continues below

Siyanda Xulu returns to the national team for the first time in many years following his stellar performances for Maritzburg United this past season. 

He is joined by Motjeka Madisha and Innocent Maela, who have both been with Bafana Bafana in recent times. 

Siphesihle Ndlovu of Maritzburg United also cracked the nod to further enhance his blossoming career alongside Aubrey Modiba, who did well for SuperSport United in the recently ended PSL campaign.

Strange enough, there are no representatives from Free State Stars despite their impressive season under the tutelage of Luc Eymael. 

Gift Links and Luther Singh are the only players plying their trade outside the country. Links is currently on the books Al Assiouty of Egypt, while Singh is playing for SC Braga B in Portugal

Ryan Moon of Amakhosi, Lyle Foster of Orlando Pirates as well as Gift Motupa, who recently signed for Chippa United, have all been included in the final squad. 

Bafana will join the tournament at the quarter-final stages with a date against Group A winners. 

Full Bafana Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers: Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Reyaad Pieterse (SuperSport United), Khulekani Khubeka (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United), Taariq Fielies (Cape Town City), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Wiseman Meyiwa (Kaizer Chiefs), Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg United), Aubrey Modiba (SuperSport United), Jamie Webber (SuperSport United), Lebohang Maboe (Maritzburg United), Abednigo Mosiatlhaga (Bidvest Wits), Neo Gift Links (Al Assiouty, Egypt)

Strikers: Gift Motupa (Chippa United), Lyle Foster (Orlando Pirates), Ryan Moon (Kaizer Chiefs), Luther Singh (SC Braga B, Portugal).