Alampasu recalled as Osimhen tops Nigeria squad for Cote d'Ivoire and Tunisia games

Dele Alampasu
Lolade Adewuyi/Goal/Perform Media
Gernot Rohr has named his squad for next month’s high-profile international games against the Elephants and Carthage Eagles

Goalkeeper Dele Alampasu has been recalled to the Nigeria squad for October’s international friendlies against Cote d’Ivoire and Tunisia.

Despite leaking five goals in Ventspils’ 5-1 Europa League defeat to Rosenborg, the 23-year-old has been a regular feature in Viorel Frunza’s Latvian Virsliga outfit.

His last call-up was in 2017 when the three-time African champions played out a 1-1 draw against Cameroon in a 2018 Fifa World Cup qualifier staged in Yaounde.

Article continues below

Meanwhile, Slovakia-based Mathew Yakubu, FC Porto’s Zaidu Sanusi, former U17 star Samson Tijani, Chidera Ejuke and Genk’s Cyriel Dessers will be hoping to make their Super Eagles debuts against either team.

Regular suspects Ahmed Musa, Victor Osimhen, Leon Balogun and Wilfred Ndidi are also part of the 25-man team for the encounter billed to strengthen the country for the next rounds of 2022 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Sierra Leone in November.

Players on standby are Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey); Ramon Azeez (Granada CF, Spain); Joshua Maja (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Henry Onyekuru (AS Monaco, France) and Tyronne Ebuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands

Nigeria will take on the Elephants on October 9 in Austria and will then face the Carthage Eagles at the same venue four days later.

Since defeating Lesotho 4-2 in an Africa Cup of Nations qualifier at Maseru's Setsoto Stadium on November 17, 2019, Rohr’s men are yet to play a match in 2020 owing to the coronavirus outbreak.


Goalkeepers: Dele Alampasu (FK Ventspils, Latvia); Matthew Yakubu (SKF Sered, Slovakia); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Paderborn 07, Germany); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (FC Midtjylland, Denmark); Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasary SK, Turkey); Samson Tijani (TSV Hartberg, Austria)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Cyriel Dessers (KRC Genk, Belgium); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia)