Dolan Warren Awards 2018: When, where, TV broadcast, favourites and past winners

Milos Ninkovic Sydney FC
All the details for Australian football's night of nights including the Johnny Warren and Julie Dolan medals

Australian football's major awards ceremony the Dolan Warren Awards is held annually on the Monday before the A-League grand final.

The event celebrates the the achievements of players from the A-League, W-League and Youth League.

When and where is the Dolan Warren Awards ceremony?

 The Dolan Warren Awards night will be held at 7pm in The Star Casino Event Centre, Sydney on April 30 - it's traditional date on the Monday prior to the A-League grand final.

Article continues below

Red carpet arrivals will be between 5:00pm and 6:15pm.

It will be the second consecutive year The Star has hosted the event, with the 2015 and 2016 ceremonies being held at the Carraigeworks in Sydney.

Milos Ninkovic Sydney FC

How can I watch the Dolan Warren Awards

 The event will be broadcast live on Fox Sports from 7:00pm (AEST).

Social media and content coverage will be provided by @GoalAustralia on Twitter.

Tara Rushton

What awards will be presented on the night?

 The best player from the A-League and W-League will be crowned with the Johnny Warren and Julie Dolan medals respectively.

Other awards to be presented for both the A-League and W-League will be the NAB Young Footballer of the Year, Coach of the Year, Golden Boot winners, Goalkeeper of the Year, Goal of the Year, Fair Play award and Referee of the Year.

Who are the favourites for the top gongs?

Sydney FC playmaker Adrian Mierzejewski is hot favourite to take out the Johnny Warren medal in his debut season, while Melbourne Victory's Leroy George and Melbourne City's Luke Brattan are also contenders.

Matildas superstar Sam Kerr looks likely to win the Julie Dolan medal with her exploits for Perth Glory, while Melbourne City's Jess Fishlock and Sydney FC's Lisa De Vanna will poll strongly.

Departing Sky Blues mentor Graham Arnold will vie with Newcastle Jets' boss Ernie Merrick for A-League coach of the year, while Patrick Kisnorbo is favourite to win the W-League equivalent after winning the grand final with Melbourne City.

Adrian Mierzejewski Sydney FC

Who have the past winners of the Johnny Warren and Julie Dolan medal been?

Note: Statistics are from from the A-League and W-League eras.

Year Johnny Warren medal Julie Dolan medal
2005-06 Bobby Despotovski (Perth Glory) N/A
2006-07 Nick Carle (Newcastle Jets) N/A
2007-08 Joel Griffiths (Newcastle Jets) N/A
2008-09 Shane Smeltz (Wellington) Lana Harch (Queensland Roar)
2009-10 Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory) Michelle Heyman (Central Coast Mariners)
2010-11 Marcos Flores (Adelaide United) Kyah Simons (Sydney FC)
2011-12 Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar) Sally Shipard (Canberra United)
2012-13 Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory) Claire Polkinghorne (Brisbane Roar)
2013-14 Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar) Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar)
2014-15 Nathan Burns (Wellington) Emily Van Egmond (Newcastle Jets)
2015-16 Diego Castro (Perth Glory) Ashleigh Sykes (Canberra United)
2016-17 Milos Ninkovic (Sydney FC) Samantha Kerr (Perth Glory)

Sam Kerr

Why are the medals named after Johnny Warren and Julie Dolan?

The men's A-League player of the year award is named after former Socceroo captain Johnny Warren, who was a pioneer and promoter of Australian football.

Warren passed away in November 2004 and is still revered as one of football's biggest influences in Australia.

The women's W-League player of the year award gets its name from former Matildas captain Julie Dolan, who also worked as a football administrator in Australia.

Johnny Warren