River Plate 3-0 Tigres UANL (3-0 Agg.): Hosts win third Copa Libertadores

River Plate is the Copa Libertadores champion for the first time since 1996 after a win over Tigres UANL.

River Plate clinched its third Copa Libertadores title with a 3-0 win over Tigres UANL in the second leg of the final Wednesday.

Headers from Lucas Alario and Ramiro Funes Mori, either side of a Carlos Sanchez penalty, helped secure River's win in Buenos Aires.

After a scoreless first leg in Mexico, Alario headed in at the near post on the stroke of halftime to send River on its way to a third Copa title and first since 1996. Sanchez was fouled in the penalty area and converted his spot kick with 15 minutes remaining and Mori headed in a corner soon after.

The clash at the Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti saw nine yellow cards in a feisty encounter. But, despite having former Marseille striker Andre-Pierre Gignac starting up front, Tigres rarely looked like scoring.

The first half was marred by 20 fouls as the visitors picked up four yellow cards and the home side was shown one of its own.

Both teams rarely threatened before River Plate opened the scoring in the 45th minute. A smart turn by Leonel Vangioni led to him running at the Tigres defense before crossing for Alario, who headed down low at the near post.

Driving rain greeted the players to start the second half and neither team looked particularly threatening.

But a second goal for River would come. Sanchez drove into the penalty area from the right and was clumsily brought down by Javier Aquino. The Uruguayan stepped up to take the spot kick, firing into the roof of the net as Nahuel Guzman dived to his right.

It was 3-0 four minutes later as an unmarked Mori headed in a Leonardo Pisculichi corner to seal River's triumph.