CONCACAF conducts Champions League draw

The groups are made for the 2015-16 edition of the CONCACAF Champions League.

CONCACAF conducted the draw for the CONCACAF Champions League on Monday, sorting the 24 qualified teams into eight groups. Teams will play the other teams in their group both home and away to decide which clubs will move on to the knockout stages.

Group A contains Trinidadian club W Connection, Costa Rican giant Saprissa and recently crowned Liga MX champion Santos Laguna.

Metapan, of El Salvador, Costa Rica's Herediano and Mexican Apertura runner-up Tigres are in Group B.

Verdes FC of Belize will contest Group C, provided Belize has a facility that passes CONCACAF standards. In previous years, Belize's spot has been awarded to another Central American nation after their facilities were ruled to be insufficient to host CCL matches. Along with them are Panama's San Francisco and Liga MX Clausura runner up Queretaro.

The reigning MLS Cup champion LA Galaxy are in Group D with Caribbean Club Championship winner Central FC of Trinidad and Tobago and Guatemalan side Comunicaciones.

The CONCACAF Champions League holder Club America is in Group E along with Nicaraguan newcomers Walter Ferretti and Honduran Apertura winner Motagua. 

It's a Cascadia Cup rivalry in Group F with the Vancouver Whitecaps, into the competition as the best Canadian team from the 2014 MLS regular season, and the Seattle Sounders in the group along with Honduran Clausura champion Olimpia.

Group G is made up of Salvadoran Clausura champion Santa Tecla, Guatemalan runner up Municipal and MLS' Real Salt Lake.

The final group is made up of Montego Bay, Arabe Unido and D.C. United.