2012-13 CONCACAF Champions League groups revealed

All five MLS teams involved now know who they will face in the first round, with Seattle and Los Angeles waiting on Caribbean opposition to round out their groups.
CONCACAF revealed what the initial round of its 2012-13 Champions League will look like, with the revamped three-team, eight-group format taking center stage.

Defending champion Monterrey will face Guatemala's Municipal and Panama's Chorrillo FC in Group 7, while runner-up Santos Laguna will square off against Toronto FC and El Salvador's Aguila in what is perceived to be the toughest group going forward.

Real Salt Lake was placed in Group 2 with Costa Rican champ Herediano, while the Houston Dynamo will face fabled Central American clubs Olimpia and FAS. Seattle's run will start against Marathon of Honduras and an unknown Caribbean opponent, while LA Galaxy will face last season's surprising Isidro Metapan.

Fabled Mexican club Chivas de Guadalajara will make its debut in the competition against Xelaju and another Caribbean team that has yet to seal its place in Group 8.

Group 1
Santos Laguna (MEX)
Toronto FC (CAN)
Aguila (SLV)

Group 2
Herediano (CRC)
Real Salt Lake (USA)
Tauro FC (PAN)

Group 3
Olimpia (HON)
Houston Dynamo (USA)

Group 4
Seattle Sounders FC (USA)
Marathon (HON)
Caribbean 1

Group 5
LA Galaxy (USA)
Metapan (SLV)
Caribbean 3

Group 6
Tigres UANL (MEX)
Alajuelense (CRC)
Real Esteli (NIC)

Group 7
Chorillo (PAN)
Monterrey (MEX)
Municipal (GUA)

Group 8
Xelaju (GUA)
Chivas de Guadalajara (MEX)
Caribbean 2

Follow GOAL.COM on