World Cup 2018 play-offs: Italy draw Sweden and Republic of Ireland face Denmark in UEFA ties

The fixtures for the final phase of European qualifying has been decided, with Northern Ireland taking on Switzerland and Ireland playing Denmark

Italy have been drawn with Sweden in their World Cup qualifying playoff.

The eight teams learned their fate in the final qualfying phase on Tuesday, with Giampiero Ventura's side paying a visit to Sweden in the first leg of their tie.

Meanwhile, Ireland will face Denmark, Northern Ireland were paired with Switzerland and Croatia take on Greece.

World Cup UEFA play-offs draw GFX

Both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland will aim to qualify for the World Cup, but Michael O'Neill's side suffered a blow on Monday as the new FIFA world rankings confirmed that they had dropped below Denmark - meaning the latter team would be seeded in the draw at their expense.

With eight teams heading into the play-offs, spare a thought for Slovakia, who finished second in England's group, but had the worst record against the teams ranked first, third, fourth and fifth within the pool and subsequently missed out on the play-offs.

The matches will take the form of a two-legged play-off, and the first legs will take place between November 9 and November 11, while the second legs will be played between November 12 and November 14.

More to follow...


Several teams, both in Europe and across the world, have already punched their ticket to Russia.

The hosts will obviously attempt to win their very first World Cup, while they will be joined by European cohorts France, Portugal, Germany, Serbia, Poland, England, Spain, Belgium and, amazingly, Iceland. Iceland, who beat the Three Lions at Euro 2016, boasts a population of just 330,000 people, making them the smallest nation ever to qualify for the tournament.

From the AFC confederation, Iran, South Korea, Japan and Saudi Arabia will head to Russia. From the CONCACAF region, Mexico, Costa Rica, Panama, - who pipped the USA to a qualifying spot - Brazil, Uruguay, Colombia and Argentina will be a part of the tournament, along with Nigeria and Egypt from the CAF.

A play-off between Honduras and Australia is still to come, along with a two-legged tie between New Zealand and Peru.

Below is a list of the teams that have qualified for the World Cup in 2018 and the qualification spots still to be filled.

Country Qualification place
Russia Hosts
Iran AFC Third Round Group A winners
South Korea AFC Third Round Group A runners up
Japan AFC Third Round Group B winners
Saudi Arabia AFC Third Round Group B runners up
TBC AFC fifth place vs CONCACAF fourth place play-off
TBC CAF Group A winners
Nigeria CAF Group B winners
TBC CAF Group C winners
TBC CAF Group D winners
Egypt CAF Group E winners
Mexico CONCACAF Fifth Round first place
Costa Rica CONCACAF Fifth Round second place
Panama CONCACAF Fifth Round third place
Brazil CONMEBOL first place
Uruguay CONMEBOL second place
Argentina CONMEBOL third place
Colombia CONMEBOL fourth place
TBC CONMEBOL fifth place vs OFC first place play-off
France UEFA Group A winners
Portugal UEFA Group B winners
Germany UEFA Group C winners
Serbia UEFA Group D winners
Poland UEFA Group E winners
England UEFA Group F winners
Spain UEFA Group G winners
Belgium UEFA Group H winners
Iceland UEFA Group I winners
TBC UEFA second-place play-off winners
TBC UEFA second-place play-off winners
TBC UEFA second-place play-off winners
TBC UEFA second-place play-off winners