Barcelona wins 2010-11 La Liga title

The Catalan giants have claimed the club's 21st title in the Spanish top flight following Wednesday night's draw against Levante

Barcelona clinched its 21st title in La Liga after a 1-1 draw against Levante in round 36 of the 2010-11 campaign. The result was enough for Pep Guardiola's men to cement an unassailable six point cushion over closest challengers Real Madrid with two games left to play.

Madrid's 4-0 win over Getafe 24 hours earlier meant that Barca needed to secure just a point at the Ciutat de Valencia to hold at least a six-point advantage over its fierce rivals from the capital. With a better head-to-head record, the Catalans would be crowned champions even if both teams finished levelled on points at the top at the end of the season. And the Blaugrana did just enough to ensure the point it needed.

Guardiola's side took the lead against Levante on 27 minutes when Seydou Keita headed in Xavi's 30-yard diagonal cross. But it was pegged back after a mistake by Gerard Pique allowed Felipe Caicedo to round Victor Valdes and slot the ball into the empty net. But Barca rarely looked in trouble as it coasted to the final whistle, and across the finish line.

Barcelona - La Liga Titles (21)

1928-29, 1944-45, 1947-48, 1948-49, 1951-52, 1952-53, 1958-59, 1959-60, 1973-74, 1984-85, 1990-91, 1991-92, 1992-93, 1993-94, 1997-98, 1998-99, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11

Barcelona has occupied the top of the table since November 29 when they leapfrogged Madrid to the summit after beating Jose Mourinho's outfit 5-0 in the first Clasico of the season. Since then, the Blaugrana have lost just one and drawn three in 23 subsequent games.

However, Barca will not be able to surpass its record 99-point tally from last season, as the club will only amass 98 points at most if they win their remaining two league matches.

This is Barcelona's third consecutive domestic championship, their 21st overall, and Guardiola has won every single league title since taking over as first team coach in 2008.

The title is Milan's first since 2004, when they finished 11 points ahead of Roma under coach Carlo Ancelotti, and comes in Massimiliano Allegri's first season on the bench.

For more on Spain click ahead to's Spain homepage and join USA's Facebook fan page!