Standard Liege Win Back-To-Back Championships

An Axel Witsel penalty gave Standard Liege the win which crowns Oguchi Onyewu's team champions of Belgium.
Standard Liege has won its second consecutive Belgian Jupiler League after beating arch-rivals Anderlecht today.

The two Belgian giants finished tied on top of the league with 77 points and so played a two-legged playoff series.

The teams drew 1-1 in the away match, but Standard made a Axel Witsel penalty stand up in the home tie to win the league for the second year in a row.

American defender Oguchi Onyewu helped his side keep a clean sheet in the win. Gooch joins Maurice Edu and DaMarcus Beasley as an American to win European silverware this season.

Onyewu's contract with Standard expires this summer, and his signature is being saught throughout Europe.