Three teams to move in Liga MX

Liga MX is facing a shakeup of sorts, with three teams trying to relocate and ownership rules set to change.
There were huge changes announced at Monday evening’s Liga MX owners’ meeting, with three teams set to move location.

The first announcement was Jaguares de Chiapas being sold to Queretaro – a city where that saw its team relegated last season after battling over the final few weeks.

San Luis has also asked the Liga MX for a change of site, with owner Carlos Lopez Chargoy stating that lack of support within the community was the reason for petitioning for the move.

Irapuato Veracruz, Acapulco and Puebla have been rumored to be possible destinations for the team that has struggled to make an impact on Mexico’s top division.

Perhaps the most incredible news coming out of the meeting was La Piedad also asking for permission to move.

Fans celebrated in the streets as the team from a small town in the state of Michoacan won promoted last Saturday. Those same fans were bitter two days later when the club’s owners announced the there will be no first division soccer there next season.

“For some it will be interpreted as a lack of respect, for others it is the commitment to putting first division soccer in different markets,” said Liga MX president Decio de Maria in the press conference after the meeting.

The decision of where San Luis and La Piedad will move will be announced next Monday at the latest.

The other main story to come out of the meeting is that ownership of multiple clubs by one company or person will be phased out in the next five years.

Follow GOAL.COM on