MLS Best XI Of 2009 Announced

Freddie Ljungberg and Landon Donovan highlight the league's Best XI list of 2009.
Including five first time recipients and two four-time honorees, this year's Major League Soccer Best XI was announced in commissioner Don Garber's State Of The League address today.

Voted on by members of the media, MLS players, coaches, and general managers, the Best XI lists the best 11 players in MLS from each position (one goalkeeper, three defenders, five midfielders, and two forwards).

Anchoring the list is the revitalized Zach Thornton. The Chivas USA shot stopper already secured the goalkeeper of the year and comeback player of the year awards this season. At 36 years old, his 2009 inclusion in the MLS Best XI marks his return to the list after over a decade absence.

The Houston Dynamo contributed two names, the only club to do so. Stuart Holden and Geoff Cameron both made it on the XI for the first time. Former Dynamo Dwayne De Rosario joined New England Revolution's Shalrie Joseph as a four-time honoree.

2009 MLS Best XI:

Goalkeeper: Zach Thornton (Chivas USA)
Defenders: Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo), Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire), Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew)
Midfielders: Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC), Landon Donovan (Los Angeles Galaxy), Stuart Holden (Houston Dynamo), Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution), Freddie Ljungberg (Seattle Sounders FC)
Forwards: Conor Casey (Colorado Rapids), Jeff Cunningham (FC Dallas)

Want more from delivered right to your door? Check out " Magazine." Subscribe now!