News Live Scores

Leopards v Kariobangi Sharks Match Report, 12/9/18

1 - 1
Kenyatta Stadium
AFC Leopards 1-1 Kariobangi Sharks: Ingwe denied win by ten-man Sharks
10:33 AM EST 12/9/18
Kariobangi Sharks v AFC Leopards
The early goal, however, seemed to have scratched Ingwe the wrong part of the body

Ten-man Kariobangi Sharks forced AFC Leopards to a 1-1 draw in a Kenyan Premier League match played on Sunday.

Even though Ingwe were forced to recover in the game after they found themselves trailing to a Harrison Mwendwa’s strike, the 13-time Kenyan champions could not take advantage of the numerical advantage. This was after Michael Bodo was given his marching orders later in the second half.

Sharks just needed 15 minutes to break Ingwe’s defence and take the lead at the quarter hour mark. Mwendwa, with a nerve-wracking pace, beat two defenders before firing past a hapless Jairus Adira. The early goal, however, seemed to have scratched AFC Leopards on the wrong part of the body.

The sleeping giants came out of their comfort zone and after rattling the Sharks defence twice, a lovely exchange yielded a goal after Sharks conceded a penalty. Captain Robinson Kamura didn’t waste any chance after he sent Brian Bwire the wrong side.

Brian Nabwire missed a clear chance in the early exchanges of the second half as Ingwe picked pace from where they had left. A lively Nabwire connected a perfectly delivered cross from the right but his header missed the target by a few inches as Sharks once again survived.

But despite the slight setback with just a minute to the final whistle, Sharks, are yet to lose a game in the last four outings, held on to pick a vital point in the draw in Machakos. Earlier at the same venue, Sofapaka beat Mount Kenya United 2-1 thanks to goals from Stephen Waruru and George Avira. Lewis Wanami scored Mount Kenya’s consolation, from the 12-meter yard.

Meanwhile, Ulinzi Stars lost 2-0 to Vihiga United while Tusker played out to a 1-1 draw with Sony Sugar in Awendo.

AFC Leopards XI: Jairus Adira, Dennis Sikhayi, Isaac Kipyegon, Isaac Oduro, Robinson Kamura, Victor Majid, Said Tsuma, Odeny Aziz, Mukangula Eugene, Marita Brian and Isuzza Whyvonne.

Subs: Owade Ezekiel, Lukooya Baker, Mainge Yusuf, Abdalla Salim, Seda Ezekiel, Nabwire Marvin and Odeny Jaffery.

Kariobangi Sharks XI: Brian Bwire, Michael Bodo, Tom Teka, Geoffrey Shiveka, Nixon Omondi, Henry Juma, Patilla Omotto, Shaphan Oyugi, Vincent Wasambo, Harrison Mwendwa and Duke Abuya.

Subs: Gad Mathews, Herit Mungai, John Kuol, Moses Mwangi, Alvin Mangeni, Fidel Origa and James Mazembe.