Gor Mahia 1-0 AFC Leopards: K'Ogalo claws Ingwe to retain Super Cup
Goal Kenya.
The win extended Gor Mahia’s dominance in this competition to five titles in eight appearances in the final

Haroun Shakava scored his first goal as Gor Mahia captain in a 1-0 win over rivals AFC Leopards in the Super Cup final on Sunday.

The win extended Gor Mahia’s dominance in this competition to five titles in eight appearances in the final.

Shakava, who was handed the armband early this month, gave the record Kenyan champions the lead late in the second half. Shakava’s lone goal also chopped off AFC Leopards' dominance (win-record) against Gor Mahia in all competitions to just one.

Article continues below

The two sides have met 96 times with Ingwe winning 32 of the ' Mashemeji Derbies', just one more than Gor Mahia and 33 ending in a draw.

Host Gor Mahia was the most aggressive side in the encounter with K’Ogalo testing Ingwe’s goal as early as sixth minute.

Goalkeeper Gabriel Andika came out for a save but picked a light knock after clashing with Jacques Tuyisenge in the process. Andika needed two minutes attention from medics before the game resumed.

Prince Orko came close to opening the scores for Ingwe but Boniface Oluoch cooled the temperature with a 27th minute clearance to keep the score sheet clean.

Captain Shakava gave coach Dylan Kerr's side the lead with five minutes left to the half time whistle when he headed home a cross from George Odhiambo.

AFC Leopards pushed for an equaliser after resumption but K'Ogalo defence was too strong to break. Orko almost canceled out Shakava’s goal in the 47th minute but Joash Onyango was too quick to clear the ball.

Gor Mahia starting XI: Boniface Oluoch, Haroun Shakava, Goeffrey Walusimbi, Ernest Wendo, Joash Onyango, Wellington Ochieng, Humphrey Mieno, Jacques Tusiyenge, Meddie Kagere, Francis Kahata and George Odhiambo.

AFC Leopards starting XI: Gabriel Andika, Dennis Shikayi, Moses Mburu, Duncan Otieno, Abdalla Salim, Collins 'Gattuso' Okoth, Jaffari Odeny, Joseph Kuria, Arkoh Prince, Ezekiel Odera and Baker Lukooya.


Comments ()