News Matches
AFF Championship

Philippines AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022 squad: Who's in and who's out?

10:15 PM EST 12/19/22
Philippines AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022 squad
Which players have Philippines picked for the 2022 AFF Championship?

Philippines have been a regular at the AFF Championship for many years, but have never managed to win the competition.

Over the last decade or so, however, interest in the beautiful game has increased in Philippines and they are slowly but surely becoming a force to be reckoned with.

They made it to the semi-finals for the first time in 2010 and repeated that achievement in 2012, 2014 and 2018.

The 2020 edition was less of a success due to a number of factors and they will be determined to show what they're made of again this time around.

The Azkals are in group A with Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia and Thailand.

Here's a look at new head coach Josep Ferre Ybarz's squad.

  • Anthony Pinthus


    KL City goalkeeper Kevin Ray Mendoza will be fancying his chances of securing the No.1 jersey, ahead of a number of youthful and less experienced alternatives.

    Switzerland-born Anthony Pinthus, meanwhile, might also get a chance to prove his worth if Mendoza isn't quite up for the task for whatever reason.

    Kevin Ray MendozaKuala Lumpur City
    Anthony PinthusUnited City
    Julian SchwarzerADT
  • Amani Aguinaldo


    Amani Aguinaldo is one of the few experienced heads in the Philippines squad and will likely play a key role in defence.

    Jefferson Tabinas will also be confident of breaking into the starting XI, with Yrick Gallantes another option at the back.

    Amani AguinaldoNakhon Ratchasima
    Kamil AmirulADT
    Yrick GallantesADT
    Simen LyngboUnited City
    Audie MenziKaya-Iloilo
    Christian RontiniPenang
    Paul Tabinas Unattached
    Jefferson TabinasMito HollyHock
  • Philippines Stephan Schrock


    Versatile attacking midfielder Stephan Schrock is going to be key to Philippines' ambitions at the tournament.

    Along with Schrock, wingers Kenshiro Daniels and Hikaru Minegishi will be the key experienced personnel in the middle of the park to guide a young team.

    Wonderkids Oliver Bias and Sandro Reyes are arguably the two to watch in midfield.

    Arnel AmitaKaya-Iloilo
    Oliver BiasChiangmai United
    Pocholo BugasUnited City
    Kenshiro DanielsUnited City
    Jesus MellizaKaya-Iloilo
    Hikaru MinegishiUnited City
    Harry NunezADT
    Sandro ReyesKaya-Iloilo
    Stephan SchrockADT
  • Mark Hartmann in action


    The experienced Hartmann is expected to start most games at the AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022.

    Jarvey Gayoso will also hope to get some chances after some fine performances at club level.

    Jarvey GayosoKaya-Iloilo
    Mark HartmannUnited City
    Sebastian RasmussenRanders Freja
  • Thomas Dooley - Filipina


    In their last few games, Philippines have gone with a classic 3-4-3 formation, but that is expected to change at the AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022.

    In the tournament, Philippines are expected to go with a 5-3-2 formation with two wing-backs.

    Kevin Ray Mendoza is expected to start in goal. Amani Aguinaldo could lead an inexperienced defence alongside Jefferson Tabinas and the ever-versatile Audie Menzi, with Simen Lyngbo and Yrick Gallantes being our two expected wing-backs.

    Kenshiro Daniels, Hikaru Minegishi and Stephan Schrock are three quality options that could feature in midfield.

    Mark Hartmann and Javier Gayoso are expected to lead on the striking front.

    Philippines XI (5-3-2): Kevin Ray Mendoza; Simen Lyngbo, Amani Aguinaldo, Jefferson Tabinas, Audie Menzi, Yrick Gallantes; Kenshiro Daniels, Hikaru Minegishi, Stephan Schrock; Mark Hartmann, Javier Gayoso

  • Neil Etheridge Cardiff


    As with every major tournament, there are always high-profile names who miss out for whatever reason and the AFF Cup is no exception.

    For Philippines, that list is probably longer than for any other team as multiple high-profile names miss out.

    Neil EtheridgeBirmingham City
    Daisuke SatoPersib Bandung
    Carli de MurgaJDT
    Manuel OttTerengganu FC
    Mike OttPS Barito Putera
    Gerrit HoltmannVfL Bochum
    Kevin IngresoSri Pahang
    Patrick ReicheltPrachuap FC
    OJ PorteriaKirivong Sok Sen Chey
    Bienve MaranonVillarrubia CF