Cameroon 1-1 Uganda: Cranes battle for draw in pre-Chan competition
Uganda Cranes v Somalia.
The next assignment for the East African heavyweights will be Zambia, while the Indomitable Lions will tackle Niger

Uganda started their pre-African Nations Championship competition with a 1-1 draw with Cameroon at Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo on Friday.

Banga Bienvenue opened the scoring for the hosts before Milton Karisa equalized for the East African heavyweights.  

The Indomitable Lions started the game on a high as the players who were afforded a chance gave their best hoping to impress the technical bench ahead of the Chan competition.

The Cranes crumbled in light of early pressure, and Police FC striker Ben Ocen was dismissed after just 12 minutes for elbowing an opponent. It gave the Central Africa nation an excellent chance to open the scoring a minute later courtesy of Bienvenue.

A tactical change was needed by Uganda coach Johnathan McKinstry to stop their hosts, who were hungry for more goals.

In the 28th minute, winger Joseph Ssemuju was substituted and his place was taken by Karim Watambala. The change provided much-needed stability for the Cranes.

Despite the chances created by both teams, neither managed to take them, and the first 45 minutes ended with Indomitable Lions 1-0 up.

The East Africans started the second half better and at some point, it was hard to tell they were playing with a man less. 

Their zeal paid dividends in the 70th minute when Karisa managed to get an equalizer.

It got worse for Cameroon when Abouri Basile was sent off late in the game. However, neither of the pair could get another goal.

Uganda will now focus on the Chipolopolo of Zambia in their next game scheduled for Monday with their final game to be played on Thursday.

Uganda squad in Cameroon; 

Goalkeepers: Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Nafian Alionzi (URA), and Tom Ikara (Police).

Article continues below

Defenders: Eric Ssenjobe (Police), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers), Derrick Ndahiro (SC Villa), Paul Willa (Vipers), Ashraf Mandela (URA), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Mustafa Mujjuzi (Kyetume), Patrick Mbowa (URA), Murushid Juuko (Express), Muhamood Hassan (Police).

Midfielders: Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Tonny Mawejje (Police), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants).

Forwards: Ben Ocen (Police), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Joseph Ssemujju (BUL), Joakim Ojera (URA), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Stephen Mukwala (URA), Mohamed Shaban (Vipers), and Ivan Bogere (Proline).