Watch Mourinho’s angry exchange with TV reporter Fjortoft as Roma boss launches into another referee rant

Mourinho RomaGetty

Jose Mourinho has made a habit of calling out referees in his distinguished coaching career to date, with the Portuguese producing more of the same at Roma as he continues to question the actions of match officials at home and abroad.

The former Chelsea and Manchester United boss is facing possible sanctions for highlighting supposed mistakes made by those in the middle during Serie A action, with one recent outing against Juventus leaving Mourinho incensed.

A Europa League Conference clash with Bodo/Glimt did little to improve his mood, with the Roma boss taking in an angry exchange with TV reporter, and former Premier League striker, Jan Age Fjortoft after the final whistle in a 2-2 draw.

What happened with Mourinho?

Mourinho was interviewed by Fjortoft for Viaplay after seeing the Italian heavyweights held by a plucky Norwegian outfit that stunned his Roma team 6-1 a couple of weeks earlier.

The Roma coach was of the opinion that the match referee did his team few favours at Stadio Olimpico, with more penalty appeals being waved away, and struggled to understand why the man putting questions to him could not share the same opinion, stating at one stage: “Did you watch the game?”

What else did Mourinho have to say?

Mourinho also entered into a post-match debate with Sky Sport Italia, with the Portuguese questioning the quality of Europa Conference League officials.

He believes his team are being denied far too many spot kicks, with a recent dip in results for Roma owing plenty to some questionable calls.

Mourinho said: “The reality of the game is 2-2, but the two penalties were clear as day. Clear as day.

“You can talk about whatever you want, but the reality is 2-2, they had two shots on target and two goals. We scored two goals and had two clear penalties denied.

“I don’t know if they get referees who are poor and starting their careers for the Conference League. I didn’t say anything about the referee in Norway, because we lost 6-1, but here the two penalties were clear.”

Further reading