News Live Scores
Kaizer Chiefs v Orlando Pirates

TEAM NEWS: Mabokgwane starts for Orlando Pirates against Kaizer Chiefs

15:00 EAT 24/11/2018
Jackson Mabokgwane, Orlando Pirates
Both Solinas and Sredojevic have named their strongest possible starting line-ups for this 165th Soweto Derby meeting since 1970

Orlando Pirates goalkeeper Jackson Mabokgwane will make his Soweto Derby debut against Kaizer Chiefs this afternoon. 

The 30-year-old had been overlooked for this fixture over the past two years, with Siyabonga Mpontshane the preferred choice. 

However, Micho Sredojevic has changed things around for this encounter which is scheduled to take place at the Moses Mabhida Stadium. 

Also making his return to the starting line-up is Musa Nyatama, who replaces Ben Motshwari in midfield. 

According to Sredojevic, Motshwari suffered a knock in last weekend's friendly match and he failed to recover on time for this titanic clash. 

Augustine Mulenga whom Sredojevic said was ready earlier this week, will settle for a place on the bench, and probably be introduced in the second half to add pace upfront. 

Vincent Pule passed his late fitness test, and he will hope to replicate the same form which saw him score the winner in last month's Soweto Derby win over Amakhosi. 

Meanwhile, Giovanni Solinas has opted for a more attack-minded side this time around. 

Lebogang Manyama, Leonardo Castro and Khama Billiat all start upfront for the Naturena-based side with Dumisani Zuma lurking behind the trio in the final third. 

Solinas didn't make any changes to the back four which conceded two goals against Pirates in the previous meeting with Siyabonga Ngezana and Mario Booysen deployed at centre-back positions to marshal the defence. 

Surprisingly, Siphelele Ntshangase has been left of the squad completely and his place has been taken by George Maluleka. 

Pirates starting XI: Mabokgwane, Munetsi, Mbekile, Jele, Maela, Mlambo, Nyatama, Lorch, Pule, Kutumela, Shonga. 

Chiefs starting XI: Khune, Mphahlele, Walusimbi, Ngezana, Booysen, Katsande, Maluleka, Manyama, Billiat, Castro.