News Live Scores
Africa Cup of Nations Qualification

Primeiro Agosto players dominate Angola squad for Afcon qualifier against Botswana

17:18 EAT 01/09/2018
CHAN 2018: Angola
Primeiro Agosto have been enjoying a good run in the Caf Champions League and they have gone on to influence the Angola national team selection

A massive eight Primeiro Agosto players have been included in Angola’s 26-man provisional squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Botswana at home on September 9.

Agosto have hit good form this season, reaching the Caf Champions League quarter-finals and their players have in turn dominated the national team squad.

Goalkeeper Toni Cabaca, four defenders and midfielders Manuel Show, Mario Cesar Balburdia as well as forward Geraldo have contributed to the national team by Agosto.

Petro Atletico, other Angolan giants, have five players in the squad.

Having lost their opening match 3-1 away in Burkina Faso, Angola will be looking to recover against Botswana.

Rio Ave forward Gelson who scored the Plancas Negras' consolation goal against Burkina Faso has been retained, while Lazio defender Bastos has also been included.

Angola’s Serbian coach Srdjan Vasiljevic will be banking on the experience of former Porto striker Djalma, now with Turkish side Alanyaspor.


Angola squad

Goalkeepers: Gerson Bruno da Costa Barros (Petro Atletico), Toni Cabaca (Primeiro Agosto), Landu Mavanga (Interclube)

Defenders: Wilson Pinto Gaspar (Petro Atletico), Mira (Petro Atletico), Dany (Primeiro Agosto), Paizo (Primeiro Agosto), Mingo Bille (Primeiro Agosto), Anderson Benjamin Guelor (Primeiro Agosto), Antonio Paty (Interclube), Buatu Mananga Jonathan (Rio Ave, Portugal), Bastos (Lazio, Italy)

Midfielders: Herenilson Caifalo do Carmo (Petro Atletico), Ricardo Job Estevao (Petro Atletico), Manuel Show (Primeiro Agosto), Mario Cesar Balburdia (Primeiro Agosto)

Forwards: Geraldo (Primeiro Agosto), Mano Calesso (Interclube), Yano (Progresso), Cristovao Mabululu (Domant do Bengo), Gelson Dala (Rio Ave, Portugal), Mateus Galiano da Costa (Boavista, Portugal), Freddy (Belenenses, Portuga), Djalma (Alanyaspor, Turkey), Vlademir Eston Antonio Felix (Leixoes, Portugal), Chico Banza (Leixoes, Portugal).