Kimanzi optimistic Kenya can retain Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup

JOSEPH OKUMU of Kenya and Harambee Stars vs MARCELO of Togo.
Goal Kenya.
The tactician is hopeful his side can successfully defend the title they won two years ago

Harambee Stars head coach Francis Kimanzi is hopeful his charges will retain the Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup set to start this weekend in Uganda.

In 2017, hosts Kenya defeated Zanzibar 3-2 on penalties to emerge as winners after the match finished 2-2 after regular time.

Ahead of the start of this year's event, Kimanzi was happy with the level of competitiveness in the camp and believes it is a good sign of things to come.

"We are looking forward to retaining the trophy we won in the 2017 Cecafa Championships," Kimanzi is quoted as saying by the federation's official site.

“Everyone who was called up to the camp has reported and is training hard for the tournament."

AFC Leopards midfielder Whyvonne Isuza is also optimistic about their chances of retaining the crown despite stiff competition from hosts Uganda, Tanzania and guests the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

“We are preparing well for the championships and we will do our best to defend the trophy."

Kenya are in Group C with Tanzania, Zanzibar, and Djibouti.

The defending champions will open their campaign on Sunday against Djibouti.

Provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Samuel Odhiambo (Western Stima)

Defenders: Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Suleiman Ngotho (Posta Rangers), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Hillary Wandera (Tusker), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United) Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks)

Midfielders: Anthony Wambani (Vasalunds IF), Roy Okal (Mathare United), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Musa Masika (Wazito), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia), Reagan Otieno (KCB), Luke Namanda (Tusker), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Kevin Kimani (Mathare United), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia)

Strikers: Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars), Benson Omala (Western Stima), Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi Stars), John Mark Makwatta (AFC Leopards), Timothy Otieno (Tusker)




Article continues below