Cosafa confirm details for U-17, U-20 & senior Women's Championships

South Africa Senior Women's Team Banyana Banyana celebrate Cosafa Cup title 2018 Port Elizabeth, South Africa
The region's football governing body have announced their schedules for this year's regional women's tournaments.

The Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) have confirmed that the 2019 Women's Championship will take place from July 31 to August 11 in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

On Thursday, Cosafa announced that the competition will return to the South African coastal city in July - three weeks after the national side's outing at the 2019 Women's World Cup.

In September 2018, Refiloe Jane's brace helped Desiree Ellis' ladies defeat Cameroon 2-1 to successfully defend the title in Port Elizabeth.

Reigning champions South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Malawi will compete in the tournament to refine their strategies for the second round of the African Women's Olympic qualifiers, scheduled to take place between August 26 and September 1.

Article continues below
Goal 50 Revealed: The best 50 players in the world

The Southern African football body also disclosed that it will stage the first ever Under-17 and Under-20 Women's Youth Championship, in Mauritius and South Africa, respectively.

The U-20 tournament is scheduled to take place simultaneously with the senior women's championship in Port Elizabeth, from August 1-11, while the U-17 event will be staged in Mauritius from September 13-22.

No Southern African team has qualified for the U-20 Women's World Cup since its inception in 2002 - a jinx the regional body will aim to break with the introduction of the age-group championships.