Federer jokes Evans handball 'a clear penalty for Switzerland'

Comments()
Getty Images
After Corry Evans conceded a doubtful spot-kick in a 1-0 win in Thursday's play-off, the Swiss tennis legend defended the decision

Tennis star Roger Federer has joked the controversial spot kick given to Switzerland in their World Cup play-off win away to Northern Ireland was a "clear penalty".

Ricardo Rodriguez scored the only goal of the game in Belfast on Thursday, converting from 12 yards after referee Ovidiu Hategan gave the visitors a penalty for a handball against Corry Evans.

Brazil 6/1 to beat England 1-0

The Northern Ireland midfielder blocked a shot from Xherdan Shaqiri with his side as he turned away from the ball, with Northern Ireland coach Michael O'Neill describing the costly decision against his side as "staggering".

But a tongue-in-cheek Federer, who is preparing to play at the ATP Finals in London, suggested he agreed with the controversial call made the Romanian referee.

Article continues below

"I heard the Northern Ireland guy was trying to catch it, like a handball," the veteran Swiss joked. 

"And it was a clear penalty for Switzerland.”

Switzerland will host the second leg against Northern Ireland on Sunday, with Evans suspended after he was booked following the decision.

Next article:
Under-pressure Bayern boss Kovac feels sorry for axed Mourinho
Next article:
'He was incredible' - Guardiola hails assured debut from Man City teenager Garcia
Next article:
He's very happy at Tottenham – Arsenal boss Emery wants Pochettino to reject Manchester United
Next article:
Pogba, Fellaini, Sanchez and the winners & losers of Man Utd’s Mourinho exit
Next article:
Liga MX transfer news: The latest rumors and chisme in Mexican soccer
Close