News Live Scores
Club Friendlies

Tusker fall to Uganda's KCCA in pre-season friendly

10:48 PM SGT 22/1/18
Tusker FC v KCCA of Uganda.
Stephen Serwadda scored the all important goal for the Ugandan champions in the friendly played at Ruaraka grounds

Tusker suffered a 1-0 defeat at the hands of Ugandan champions KCCA in a friendly played on Monday.

16 year-old, Stephen Serwadda scored the all important goal for the Ugandan champions in the friendly played at Ruaraka grounds.

KCCA, who have lined-up four friendly matches in Kenya, lost the opening match 4-2 to champions Gor Mahia at Afraha Stadium in Nakuru on Saturday.

Former Gor Mahia striker Timothy Otieno tested the visitors’ goal in the sixth minute after connecting a Collins Shivachi’s cross, but his effort did not do much harm to the opponent.

KCCA responded two minutes later with an attack that resulted in a corner, but Eugene Asike cleared the danger with both teams exerting their weight behind the ball.

KCCA took the lead in the 21 minute after Serwadda put the ball past veteran goalkeeper Duncan Ochieng. Serwadda almost doubled KCCA lead ten minutes later, but his ferocious shot missed the target by a few inches.

The brewers made double substitution in the second half, bringing in striker Michael Khamati and former Nakumatt FC captain Peter Nzuki as the host chases the game.

Edwin Lavatsa had been introduced late in the first half to add depth in Tusker's attacking front. Serwadda and Allan Okello linked up for KCCA attack that almost caught Tusker flat foot in the 64th minute, but the latter directed his shot wide off the mark.

Okello came close to doubling KCCA advantage after racing almost half of Tusker’s pitch, but he was denied by veteran Ochieng’, who came out in time for the crucial save.

The visiting Ugandan champions will take on AFC Leopards in their third friendly on Wednesday before closing the tour with a clash against Sofapaka in Narok on Friday.

Tusker starting XI: Duncan Ochieng, Collins Shivachi, Eric Ambunya, Eugene Asike, Justus Omary, A. Otieno, Mathew Odongo, Boniface Muchiri, Timothy Otieno, Robert Achema and Jackson Macharia.

Reserves: Michael Khamati, Hashim Sempala, David Okello, David Mwangi. Edwin Lavatsa, Bonventure Khasabu and Peter Nzuki.