India U-19: Late winner helps Slovenia edge past the Blues

Floyd Pinto’s boys failed to take their chances in front of goal...

A late goal in added time helped Slovenia U-19 beat India U-19 in the second match of the four-nation international tournament in Croatia.

Floyd Pinto made two changes to the side that lost 0-5 to Croatia in their first match of the tournament. Jeakson Singh replaced Moya in midfield and Narender came in at right back. Aniket Jadhav was tasked with leading the line once again. 

It was a case of missed chances for the Blue colts right from the off. Rahim Ali was the first to plead guilty as he headed straight at the opposition goalkeeper from a Suresh Singh cross into the box. 

Roles reversed when Suresh Singh was faced with a golden chance to put India ahead at the half-hour mark. The Manipur-born youngster fluffed his lines and the game remained goalless at the break.

While Slovenia's weak efforts at goal were easily kept out by Prabhsukhan Gill in the first half, the second-half needed the goalkeeper to be at his very best. Gill stood firm whenever he was tested.

India looked to pile up the pressure in the attacking third. Narender's header off a corner kick flew inches wide off the mark to start off India's search for a goal.

Aniket Jadhav tries to test the goalkeeper with a couple of efforts but a goal eluded the Blues. Slovenia then went on to snatch a winner in added time to register a win. 

India will now face France in their final match of the four-nation tournament. 


India starting XI: Prabhsukhan Gill; Boris Singh, Jitendra Singh, Anwar Ali, Akash Jadhav; Jeakson, Amarjit Singh, Suresh Singh, Narender; Rahim Ali, Aniket Jadhav.

Next article:
A-League Review: Glory held in stalemate as Sydney close the gap
Next article:
Wolves vs Leicester City: TV channel, live stream, squad news & preview
Next article:
Guerra delighted to be back in second home
Next article:
Pochettino backs Alli to play Messi role for Tottenham in Kane absence
Next article:
Alexander-Arnold signs new five-year Liverpool deal