EXTRA TIME: Senong selects Amajita squad

The South African Men’s U20 National Team, concluded their tournament preparations on Monday, 4 November

The squad will now jet off to Kitwe, Zambia for the 2017 COSAFA U20 Youth Championships scheduled from 6-16 December 2017.

Amajita Head Coach Thabo Senong has named an interesting mix in his 20-man squad ahead of the tournament and admits to have had a healthy headache in picking the final squad, as all players matched each other with performance.

“We have had a great camp and believe we have selected a balanced yet attractive team. The technical staff deliberated throughout the weekend on a few players and this was a healthy headache to have as we did final assessments.

We are looking forward to a great tournament where we will be facing oppositions with different styles of play. Mauritius play long balls many, while the Mozambicans like to keep it on the ground and of course, the Egyptians are known for the counter attacks and aggressive play.

We believe we have a good team, but have no intention on putting pressure on the players because we are working on a bigger objective.

We want to be able to give all 20 players a run during the tournament and we will emphasize to them on a daily basis that they must enjoy the challenge at hand;” said Senong.

Amajita's COSAFA Squad:  

1. Sanele TSHABALALA Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
2. Renald LEANER Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
3. Khulekani KUBHEKA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

4. Kamogelo Thomas SAMBO Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
5. Thendo MUKUMELA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
6. Keanu CUPIDO Ajaccio (France)
7. Kiyaam BULL Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
8. Sbusiso Gideon MABILISO Platinum Stars FC (SA)
9. Bradley  CROSS Black Aces FC (SA)
10. Malebogo MODISE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)

11. Thabani ZUKE Golden Arrows FC (SA)
12. Katlego NTSHABELENG University of Johannesburg  (SA)
13. Sifundo Jesus SIBIYA Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
14. Happy MASHIANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
15. Lehlogonolo George MATLOU Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
16. Patrick MASWANGANYI Stars of Africa Acedemy  (SA)
17. Nkosingiphile NGCOBO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)

18. Luvuyo MKATSHANA Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
19. Lyle FOSTER Orlando Pirates  FC (SA)
20. Siphumelele MBULU Orlando Pirates  FC (SA)

Article continues below


Next article:
We're the hunters! - Kovac's Bayern ready to chase down Dortmund
Next article:
Napoli slam FIGC decision to reject Koulibaly appeal
Next article:
Pochettino insists Tottenham can replace Kane from within squad
Next article:
Coutinho return not a ‘potential transfer or a likely one’ - Klopp rules out Liverpool move for Brazilian
Next article:
Emery admits Chelsea loss would end Arsenal's top-four hopes