North Korea win EAFF Women's East Asian Cup

South Korea's surprise defeat of Japan handed geo-political rivals North Korea the title over the tournament favourites
Just as North Korea and South Korea celebrated the 60th anniversary of the Korean War Armistice, both countries' female representatives in the EAFF Women's East Asian Cup 2013 played their part in the post-tournament celebrations as well on Saturday evening.

The week-long tournament came to a close with the final round of games in the four-team round robin competition being played at Seoul Olympic Stadium.

Hosts, South Korea, who had started the tournament with two consecutive defeats and placed themselves out of the running for the championship, sprung a major upset by defeating favourites Japan 2-1 in the final fixture.

Ji So-yun's 11th minute free-kick surprised the Japanese, as did the game's second which also came from the home side with Ji completing her brace from a counter-attack. Yuki Ogimi's effort for Japan proved to be only a consolation and the defeat consequently handed South Korea's Northern neighbours the title.

North Korea overcame China who finished last, by a solitary goal courtesy of Ri Un-hyang. Ri headed home from a Kim Un-ju corner-kick early in the second-half.

The result was enough to seal a surprise championship for the North Koreans, who finished three points clear of Japan, with South Korea edging the Chinese to third spot on goal difference.

The South Korea and North Korea players embraced following the completion of the awards ceremony and posed for pictures together to show their unity on a day of added significance for both sides.

This is the fourth edition of the tournament and North Korea's first triumph following consecutive runners-up finishes in 2005 and 2008. Japan meanwhile had won the previous two editions.

2013 EAFF East Asian Women's Cup Champions North Korea

Second runners-up South Korea together with Champions North Korea

A sullen looking Japanese side collecting their runners-up award

South Korea captain Shim Seo-Yeon with her commemorative plate