News Live Scores

Leopards v Western Stima Match Report, 23/3/19

2 - 1
Kenyatta Stadium
AFC Leopards 2-1 Western Stima: Ingwe hit late to switch off bogey side
10:09 PM SGT 23/3/19
Whyvonne Isuza of AFC Leopards v Western Stima.
The win will take Ingwe to the 13th position on the 18-team log after collecting 19 points while Stima remains 9th with 23

AFC Leopards recorded their first win in five attempts against Western Stima in the Kenyan Premier League after claiming a 2-1 result on Saturday.

The hosts started the match on a high and could have gone ahead within the first 10 minutes, but Whyvonne Isuza and Vincent Oburu could not capitalize on their early chances.

A few moments later, Wayi Yeka was brought down just outside the 18-yard area but David 'Cheche' Ochieng failed to capitalize on it. AFC Leopards will have themselves to blame in the first half as they created numerous chances but the likes of Marita and Oburu wasted them.

A few minutes to the half an hour mark, Ingwe defender handled the ball in the danger zone and the referee did not hesitate to give the visitors a penalty. Unfortunately, Kennedy Agogo failed to capitalize on it as it came off the upright.

However, that did not matter because moments later, the visitors opened the scoring courtesy of Wesley Kemboi who lobbed the ball past the oncoming Jairus Adira.

Ingwe was not in the mood of losing and that was evident with the way they started the second half. In no time, they leveled the scores; Wayi Yeka's effort was spilled by the goalkeeper but just as far as Oburu who tapped the ball into the net.

Substitute Marcel Kaheza ensured Ingwe bag maximum points with a well-taken goal following concentration lapses by the power men.

In another Kenyan Premier League match, Bandari FC failed to collect maximum points away following a barren draw with hosts Chemelil.

AFC Leopards XI: Adira Jairus, Kayumba Soter, Kipyegon Isaac, Mawira Joshua, Oruchum Christopher, Ochieng David, Marita Brian, Isuzza Whyvonne (C), Tatuwe Wayi Yeka, Mukangula Eugene and Oburu Vincent.

Subs: Bakame Eric, Salim Abdallah, Okaka Aziz, Kaheza Marcel, Saad Mousa and Achuka Clark.