Who are possible winners ahead of KPL Awards gala night?

Michael Madoya of Zoo Kericho.
Goal Kenya.
Bandari FC goalkeeper Farouk Shikhalo is most likely to walk away with the Golden Gloves award

Stakes are high as 2018 Kenyan Premier League Awards Gala is set for Thursday.

So far, only Erick Kapaito is assured of walking home with at least a trophy after the Kariobangi Sharks topped the scoring chart.

Goal sampled some of the departments and give verdict ahead of the ceremony that will be held in Kabete.

The Golden Boot is already gone, Kariobangi Sharks striker Erick Kapaito managed to get that one goal in the final day of the season to take his tally of the season to sixteen. The former FC Talanta man is also expected to walk away with the new player of the season award.

The striker will, however, get stiff competition from Felly Mulumba in the MVP category and the fair play award. The Bandari defender, who is expected to win the defender of the year award, led his team to a second place finish for the first time in the club's history and went on to finish the season without any card.

Mathare United midfielder Cliff Nyakeya is expected to win the Midfielder of the year award ahead of Zoo Kericho man Michael Madoya. Madoya managed to bag the MVP last season and has gone ahead to justify it this season, but the contribution of the former Gor Mahia Youth player was just perfect. 

Article continues below

Bandari FC goalkeeper Farouk Shikhalo will most likely walk home with the Golden Gloves after conceding the least number of goals and keeping most clean sheets.

Bernard Mwalala managed to help the Dockers to a second place finish, John Baraza, managed to guide Sofapaka to fifth on the log, we also had Dunstan Nyaudo for Ulinzi Stars and Tusker man Robert Matano were also good. But the gong will go to Gor Mahia coach Dylan Kerr, who did well with the club on many fronts, no doubt about that.