Former Gor Mahia captain headlines KPL defender of the year nominees

Goal Kenya.
Kenya only conceeded against Zanzibar whom they beat in a shootout to lift the regional gong

Former Gor Mahia Captain, Musa Mohammed and his Posta Rangers' counterpart, Jockins Atudo headline the 2017 Kenyan Premier League defender of the year nomination list released on Thursday.

The duo formed a formidable partnership with the national team, Harambee Stars in the 2017 Cecafa Senior Challenge last December besides proving vital assets for their respective clubs.

Musa, who won the league with Gor Mahia and Atudo's partnership also saw Stars concede only two goals in regulation time in the entire championship.

Kenya only conceeded against Zanzibar whom they beat in a shootout to lift the regional gong.

But their good form with both club and country, saw them make the list of best defenders that also include former Kakamega Homeboyz star, Charles Momanyi, Nicholas Meja of Nakumatt and Geroge Owino from Mathare United.

Momanyi has since crossed over to champions Gor Mahia. The nominations were done by the coaches and captains of all the 18 KPL clubs that participated in the 2017 season.

The coaches and captains will meet again at the KPL Headquarters on Friday, 12 January 2018 to finalize the final selection.

Article continues below

This will be followed by the Awards Ceremony later that evening, Friday, 12 January 2018.