Flashback: When Terengganu beat Perak in 2001

Terengganu Malaysia Cup 2001
This weekend's Malaysia Cup final will be the third time that Perak and Terengganu will meet in the final, here's a recap of the previous one

Back to the scene of the excruatiating defeat on penalties just three years ago, Terengganu were bent on making sure that they do not suffer the a repeat of the disappointment in 1998. The Turtles who finished second in the league were the ones going into the match at Bukit Jalil National Stadium on better form. 

But it was the Perak side that found themselves with an early lead when Rafdi Rashid opened the scoring in the 17th minute and they managed to hold onto to the lead until half time. Mat Zan Mat Aris would lead Terengganu's resurgence in the second half and it was a three-minute spell that turned the match on it's head.

Wan Rohaimi Wan Ismail was fouled by K. Nanthakumar in the box in the 56th minute and left back Rosdi Talib took the opportunity to level the score from the penalty spot. Then in the 59th minute, Terengganu led for the first time in the match when striker Sapian Wahid found the back of the net.

The Turtles held on until the final whistle and celebrations erupted in the white-black half of the stadium as Terengganu claimed their first Malaysia Cup triumph after four attempts. To make it all the sweeter for them, it was also revenge on the team that beat them in their third final appearance, a couple of years back.

Terengganu: Zubir Ibrahim, Subri Sulong, Ghani Malek, Nafuzi Zain (Nor Fazly Alias), Sapian Wahid (Alfian Aziz), Rosdi Talib, Wan Rohaimi, Zulharisam Awang, Marzuki Yusof, Faziallah Mamat, Hairuddin Omar (Shahrulnizam Sahat)

Perak: Azlisham Ibrahim, Victor Andrag, Chan Kok Heng, Chan Wing Hoong, Syamsul Saad (Faizal Zainal), Ahmad Shahrul Azhar, K. Nanthakumar, Azrul Amri Burhan (Norizam Ali Hassan), Indra Putra Mahayuddin, Rafdi Rashid, Khalid Jamlus



Follow Goal Malaysia on Instagram


65 games 50 goals 13 game-winners 8 braces 2 penalties 1 hat-trick 🇪🇬👑

A post shared by Goal Malaysia (@goal_malaysia) on