Bruce Bvuma surprise as Stuart Baxter announces Bafana Bafana squad for Libya showdown

Zungu and Veldwijk are some of the players who are set to make their return to the Bafana squad

South Africa head coach Stuart Baxter has announced the Bafana Bafana squad that will face Libya later this month. 

The decisive Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifier is scheduled to take place in Sfax, Tunisia on Sunday, March 24.

This will be the final match of the Group for South Africa, who need to avoid defeat in order to book their ticket to the finals to be held in Egypt in June this year.

Baxter surprisingly included Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma, who made his first PSL appearance of the season for the Soweto giants against Maritzburg United over the weekend.

Sparta Rotterdam striker Las Veldwijk, Amiens midfielder Bongani Zungu and SuperSport United midfielder Dean Furman are some of the players, who are also making their respective returns to the national team.

Veldwijk has been in good scoring form for Rotterdam in the Dutch second tier, Eerste Divisie, having impressively scored 17 goals in 28 matches.

Meanwhile, Bafana captain Thulani Hlatshwayo, midfielders Kamohelo Mokotjo, Percy Tau and Lebogang Mothiba have all been retained in the squad.

Baxter is expected to choose between Bidvest Wits shot-stopper Darren Keet and SuperSport United vice-captain Ronwen Williams with Bafana's number one goalkeeper, Itumeleng Khune out injured.

South Africa squad to face Libya:

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport Utd), Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs).

Article continues below

Defenders: Daniel Cardoso (Kaizer Chiefs), Rivaldo Coetzee (Mamelodi Sundowns), Aubrey Modiba (SuperSport United), Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, Sfiso Hlanti (all Bidvest Wits), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Thamsanqa Mkhize (Cape Town City).

Midfielders: Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Hlompho Kekana, Themba Zwane, Tiyani Mabunda (all Mamelodi Sundowns), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford, England), Thulani Serero (Vitesse, Holland), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates).

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg, France), Percy Tau (Royal Union Saint, Belgium), Lars Veldwijk (Sparta Rotterdam, Holland), Lebogang Maboe (Mamelodi Sundowns), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France)