News Live Scores

Tusker 2-1 Sony Sugar: Brewers extend unbeaten run

19:35 GMT+3 14/05/2017
Tusker coach George Nsimbe
The Brewers collected another bunch of three points to stay at position four on the table

Kenyan Premier League defending champions Tusker have stretched their unbeaten run to nine matches after overcoming Sony Sugar 2-1 on Sunday.

The Brewers last lost a match on March 19 when they suffered a 2-0 defeat at the hands of Thika United before registering impressive shows thereafter. They had won five matches and drawn three ahead of their encounter against Sony Sugar; the most recent win being the 2-0 win against the newly promoted side Zoo Kericho.

On Sunday, they scored one goal in either half to dilute Sony Sugar’s second-half goal; a result which has placed them at position four with 21 points on the log. Allan Wanga and Michael Khamati scored in the 38th and 61st minutes respectively to hand coach George Nsimbe the most important points.

Amos Asembeka converted a penalty in the 77th minute to console the Salim Babu coached outfit.

Elsewhere, hosts Thika United recorded a 0-0 draw against Kakamega Homeboyz at Thika Sub-county Stadium. Gor Mahia edged out Nzoia Sugar 1-0 at Mumias Sports Complex while AFC Leopards rallied to make it 1-1 against Zoo Kericho at Machakos County Stadium. Posta Rangers surrendered league lead to K’Ogalo after drawing Nakumatt (0-0) at Afraha Stadium, Nakuru.

Tusker: Duncan Ochieng’, Collins Shivachi, Shafik Batambuze, James Situma, Marlon Tangauzi, Hashim Sempala, Humphrey Mieno, Jackson Macharia, George Mandela, Michael Khamati and Allan Wanga

Subs: David Okello, Eugine Asike, Martin Kizza, Sydney Ochieng, Abdul Hassan, Anthony Ndolo and Clifford Alwanga.

SoNy Sugar: 35.Kevin Omondi, 28. Ochieng Eugene, 3. Olare Samuel, 23. Olouch Kevin, 13.Omari Justine, 26. Onyango Alfred, 4.Hamisi Abdalla, 9. Amos Asemebeka, 2. Marwa Chamberi, 19. Ochieng Daniel, 15. Monda Justine.

Subs: 22. Muthomi Tom, 20. Ademba Victor, 17. Omweri Joseph, 31. Wekesa Curtis, Onyango Alfred, 14. Mwanya Yemi and 10. Muchiri Boniface.