Lloyd, Dempsey, Pulisic among U.S. Soccer's end-of-year award nominees

Omar Torres
U.S. Soccer has tabbed its Player of the Year nominees for the men's and women's national teams.

U.S. Soccer announced the nominees for its end-of-year awards Monday, with Carli Lloyd, Clint Dempsey and Christian Pulisic among the finalists.

Defender Geoff Cameron, midfielder Michael Bradley, and forwards Dempsey, Jozy Altidore and Bobby Wood are the nominees for the 2016 Male Player of the Year award.

On the women's side, Lloyd — the reigning FIFA World Player of the Year — is joined by defender Becky Sauerbrunn, midfielder Tobin Heath, and forwards Alex Morgan and Crystal Dunn.

The nominees for Young Female Player of the Year are defenders Kaleigh Riehl and Karina Rodriguez, midfielders Emily Ogle and Andi Sullivan, and forward Ashley Sanchez.

Article continues below

Pulisic headlines the young nominees on the men's side, with the Borussia Dortmund midfielder joined by defender Cameron Carter-Vickers, midfielder Josh Sargent, and forwards Andrew Carleton and Jordan Morris.

Votes will be cast by national team coaches and staff, players who have earned a cap in 2016, members of the U.S. Soccer Board of Directors, U.S. Soccer's Athlete Council, professional soccer league coaches, select college coaches and select media members.

Bradley won the men's award in 2015, with Lloyd claiming the women's honor.

Next article:
It can happen – Allegri plays down Ronaldo penalty miss
Next article:
'If Messi doesn't deserve the Ballon d'Or I know nothing about football' – Atletico's Filipe Luis
Next article:
Van Dijk can be the best Premier League defender of all time, says Gillespie
Next article:
Revealed: The Man City youngsters included in squad to face Burton
Next article:
Cristiano Ronaldo at Juventus: Goals, assists, results & fixtures in 2018-19