News Live Scores

I-League Breaking News - East Bengal appoint Mridul Banerjee as head coach, Armando Colaco overlooked

09:45 GMT+3 18/04/2017
Mridul Banerjee Mohammedan SC
A former Mohun Bagan assistant coach himself, Banerjee has been appointed to tide over uncertainties at one of Kolkata's biggest clubs...

East Bengal's latest managerial selection has been riveted with twists and turns akin to a Shakespearean Drama. In what can only be classified as a dramatic turn of events, the famous Red and Gold have appointed Mridul Banerjee as their coach for the rest of the season. 

It must be noted that late last night Trevor Morgan, the now former coach of East Bengal, handed in his resignation to the club's decision makers. That was followed by what was an initial confirmation by Armando Colaco, a former East Bengal coach himself, about his impending accession to the seven consecutive time Calcutta Football League (CFL) champions' hot seat.

It has now been confirmed that the ex-India and Dempo coach will not be heading to Kolkata. 

'There's still a place for Zlatan'

Instead, a core technical committee consisting of three members viz. Manoranjan Bhattacharya, Tushar Rakshit and Bhaskar Ganguly took the decision to appoint Banerjee, who'd been in charge of Mohammedan Sporting earlier this season. He has been appointed as coach till the end of the present I-League season at the very least.

"Mridul is our choice and thus has been appointed as the head coach. He has been given a contract till the Federation Cup," East Bengal General Secretary Kalyan Majumder said moments after the confirmation.

The 56-year-old's guided Bengal to a record 32nd Santosh Trophy title last month defeating host Goa 0-1 in the final.

On Sunday afternoon, English coach Morgan faced yet another defeat against DSK Shivajians which crushed the title hopes of the Kolkata outfit. This forced the Englishman to tender his resignation letter to the club. East Bengal are now third on the table with 27 points from 16 fixtures, below title contenders Aizawl FC and Mohun Bagan.