Even if you are unfamiliar with the rules of football you should know that goalkeepers can only handle the ball inside their own penalty area.
However, Eintracht Frankfurt goalkeeper Lukas Hradecky appeared to forget the cardinal rule on Saturday, and was subsequently sent off!
The stopper, having ventured outside his area, lost his footing and incredibly decided to catch the ball, leaving the official with no choice but to brandish a red card within the opening two minutes of the game.
Take a look at the video below, and marvel at the absurdity of Hradecky's split-second decision.
Ahead of Saturday's game against Red Bull Leipzig, Eintracht sat sixth in the Bundesliga, with Leipzig second.