Florence Omagbemi nominated for FIFA Coach of the Year prize

NFF/Kisu Sulola
The mastermind of Nigeria's African Championship triumph is nominated along with the Netherlands and France bosses as the most impressive of 2017

Nigeria’s Florence Omagbemi has been nominated for FIFA's Coach of the Year award.

She made the cut alongside Olivier Echouafni (France), Emma Hayes (Chelsea Ladies), Ralf Kellermann (Wolfsburg), Xavi Llorens (FC Barcelona Femeni)  Nils Nielsen (Danish national team), Gerard Precheur (Olympique Lyonnais Feminin), Dominik Thalhammer (Austrian national team), Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands national team) , Hwang Yong-Bong (Korea DPR / Korea DPR U-20 national teams).

Article continues below

The final winner will be decided by votes from national team coaches, captains, selected media and the fans with the prize to be awarded along with the Ballon d'Or in October.

Wiegman led Netherlands to European Women Championship glory on home soil, while Precheur’s Olympique Lyonnais secured the Uefa Women Champions League trophy.

Jill Ellis, Ralf Kellermann, Silvia Neid, Pia Sundage and Norio Sasaki, Ralf Kellermann, Silvia Neid, Pia Sundage and Norio Sasaki had won the award since its inception in 2010.