AFC Cup 2017: Bengaluru FC announce squad for inter-zonal semi-final against April 25 SC

Bengaluru FC
Sunil Chhetri and Udanta Singh headline a new look squad which includes fourteen new faces, most picked up from the ISL draft last month...
Bengaluru FC presented their 25-man squad ahead of their ensuing 2017 AFC Cup inter-zonal semi-final against April 25 SC of North Korea, on Wednesday.

The Blues made the transition from the I-League to the Indian Super League (ISL) at the end of last season and as a result were left with four players, with the rest of the slots to be filled in the ISL player draft.

Sunil Chhetri and Udanta Singh were 'retained', as were young guns Nishu Kumar and Malsawmzuala. Foreigners Juanan and John Johnson too renewed their contracts. Lalthuammawia Ralte, Calvin Abhishek, Lenny Rodrigues, Alwyn George and Harmanjot Singh Khabra were recalled from the draft itself.


New recruit Braulio Nobrega misses the cut but Antonio Dovale, Dimas Delgado, Juanan and Aussie midfielder Erik Paartalu make up the four-man foreign contingent. John Johnson will miss out the rest of the campaign owing to 'personal commitments.'

Head coach Albert Roca was pleased to have a fruitful pre-season in his native Spain where they came up against  FC Cartagena, UCAM Murcia CF and Baniyas Club. " We’ve had very little time to prepare but the trip to Spain has been good exposure for the boys"

"We’ve tested ourselves against good opposition and this is the squad that we’ve been able to put together. We have a week more to prepare and I believe the boys will be ready for the challenge", he said.

The squad also comprises of two graduates from their youth academy in Bellary, Leon Augustine and Prasanth Kalinga. The first leg against the North Korean side is at home on 23 August while the return leg in Pyongyang is on 13 September.


Goalkeepers: Lalthuammawia Ralte, Abhra Mondal, Calvin Abhishek;

Defenders: Rahul Bheke, Subhasish Bose, Zohmingliana Ralte, Collin Abranches, Joyner Lourenco, Juanan Gonzalez, Nishu Kumar, Prashanth Kalinga;

Midfielders: Erik Paartalu, Dimas Delgado, Antonio Dovale, Boithang Haokip, Lenny Rodrigues, Alwyn George, Harmanjot Khabra, Malsawmzuala, Robinson Singh;

Strikers: Sunil Chhetri, Udanta Singh, Daniel Lalhlimpuia, Thongkhosiem Haokip, Leon Augustine.