Tusker FC 1-2 AFC Leopards: Ingwe drown brewers to make it two wins in a row
Goal Kenya.
Kevin Omondi missed a huge chance to earn the brewers’ a point late on when his header came off the upright

AFC Leopards condemned Tusker to a fourth straight defeat in the Kenyan Premier League after a 2-1 win on Saturday.

Both teams finished the game a man down after Isaac Kipyegon and Boniface Muchiri were dismissed.

Tusker started the game strongly in search of an early goal. Sydney Ochieng, David Juma and Mike Madoya came close for the Brewers in the opening minutes. Yusuf Mainge nearly scored into his own net but his clearance hit the upright.

AFC Leopards slowly grew into the game with Whyvonne Isuza, Eugene Mukangula and Jeffari Owiti troubling Tusker defenders. Tusker keeper Emery Mvuyekure twice denied Ingwe. He saved a Kamura free-kick before parrying Isuza's close range header.

AFC Leopards were reduced to ten men in the 37th minute when Isaac Kipyegon was dismissed for two quick yellow cards, the second being for a dangerous foul on David Juma.

AFC Leopards responded by introducing Moses Mburu for Jeffari Owiti, a change that didn't go well with Ingwe supporters, who protested Owiti's substitution.

Despite being a man down, Leopards started the second half strongly. Isuza saw his short deflected after being put through on goal by Eugene Mukangula.

However, AFC Leopards took a deserved lead in the 62nd minute. A well floated corner-kick by Moses Mburu was nodded home by Congolese striker Wayi Yeka. Nine minutes later, Vincent Oburu secured the points after he was put through on goal. He kept his cool before slotting past Emery.

Tusker was also reduced to ten men in the 75th minute when Boniface Muchiri received his second yellow card of the match. Burundian striker Muzerwa Amini pulled a goal back for the Brewers in the 81st minute after capitalizing on a defensive error from Ingwe.

Tusker XI: Emery Mvuyekure, Rodges Aloro, Sammy Meja, Lloyd Wahome, Marlon Tangauzi, Peter Nzuki, Jackson Macharia, Boniface Macharia, Michael Madoya, Sydney Ochieng and David Juma.

Article continues below

Subs: Mboya, Alembi, Ambunya, Ominde, Otieno, Omondi and Amini.

AFC Leopards XI: Adira Jairus, Mainge Yusuf, Kipyegon Isaac, Orochum Christopher, Abdalla Salim, Kamura Robinson, Oburu Vincent, Isuzza Whyvonne, Wayi Yeka, Mukangula Eugene and Owiti Jaffrey.

Subs: Bakame Eric, Mburu Moses, Majid Victor, Odeny Aziz, Marita Brian, Kaheza Bonventure and Dennis Shikhayi.

Comments ()