U-18 Youth League: Shillong Lajong beat Kerala Blasters to win title

Shillong Lajong
Lins P Poulose's own goal and a late goal from Kynsailang Khongsit helped Lajong beat Kerala Blasters in the final of U-18 Youth League....

Shillong Lajong beat Kerala Blasters 2-0 to win the U-18 Youth League title on Saturday at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Shillong. 

Kerala defender Lins P Poulose scored an own goal as early as in the third minute of the match to put Lajong in front. Lajong's Kynsailang Khongsit scored the second goal of the match in 91st minute to seal a memorable win for the home side.

Shillong Lajong U-18

Article continues below

It was an extremely physical game which witnessed three red cards. Two players from Kerala Blasters players and one from Shillong Lajong were sent off during the match. Poulose, who scored the own goal, conceded two yellow cards in the 36th and 78th minute. Suhaib S, who had come on as a substitute in the second half got his marching in the dying moments of the game.

From the Lajong camp, midfielder Phrangki Buam, who had scored a brace in the semifinal against East Bengal, was sent off in the 91st minute of the match.

The Lajong colts are the only team among the 55 teams who participated in the league to remain unbeaten. They scored 23 goals in the league and conceded just three.